Tag Archives: Health and Social Care Act

Judith Jolly writes … Lib Dems are leading the battle over the regulations for the Health and Social Care Act

One year ago my colleagues and I sat in a room in Gateshead explaining in detail to party members what we had done to ensure that the Health and Social Care Act included key Liberal Democrat policies and principles.  We explained our efforts to reinstate the Secretary of State’s responsibility for ensuring that there is a comprehensive NHS.  We stated that we would end Labour’s policy of  crude competition on the basis of price, not quality, which had led to the private sector being paid £250m for work which was never done.

Above all, we stated that competition should be used …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 8 Comments

Opinion: Where is evidence based decision making about the NHS?

One of the great things about growing old is that life becomes much simpler. Those raging passions of youth give way, very gradually, to an acceptance that, in the grand scheme of things, we are pretty insignificant. Imagine my surprise when I found my blood pressure rising and my normally equitable mood being replaced by a growing sense of outrage. What exceptional event caused this? Well, it was the  Health and Social Care Act, 2012.

I am not sentimental about the NHS, or any other public body for that matter, and believe that we should constantly be trying to improve our …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 24 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAdam Perry 2nd Jul - 10:05pm
    John, well if the liberal Archbishop Tutu said it! Over a period of time aimed at innocent citizens, israel has that dubious accolade, in a...
  • User AvatarJo Hayes 2nd Jul - 8:44pm
    Ruth, the slogan about the party cutting less and borrowing less was not a matter of integrity! The slogan so far as it went was...
  • User AvatarTsar Nicholas 2nd Jul - 8:36pm
    Charlie Many climatologists rely on historical data and not on models. The models tend to be quite accurate for large parts of the world but...
  • User AvatarStuart 2nd Jul - 7:53pm
    Looking at the photographs, it appears that over half the "Ethnic Minority Lib Dems" are... white.
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 2nd Jul - 7:33pm
    Sorry, too many Blair type sentences without verbs about 'Real People'. As an unreal person, I'd go easy on the 'history's chosen instrument' bit when...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 2nd Jul - 7:23pm
    Matthew Huntbach - 'The official line was equal between the two, with the assumption that initial negotiations on a coalition would be with whichever was...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015