Tag Archives: high streets

Jessops – is administration a euphemism for obliteration?

Sadly, yesterday another retailer went into administration, this time Jessops, the high street camera chain. For the time being it continues to trade but the jobs of its 2000 employees in 200 stores are under threat. Surprisingly, Christmas can be a bad time for retailers – rents are due on Christmas Day and if the expected bumper sales don’t materialise, the money may not be there to pay them.

Obviously it’s not going to get any easier for ‘bricks and mortar’ store chains with the continuing increase in online sales, but there’s a more fundamental problem – apart from the massive …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 20 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarShirley Campbell 24th May - 12:54am
    Wow, when did Liberalism abandon radicalism? Wow, when Liberals abandoned the Liberal Party and set up the Liberal Democratic Party. Please folk research Liberalism and...
  • User AvatarMartin 24th May - 12:10am
    Tony Greaves: Do you think that we would not have won a referendum on gay marriage? More seriously, as a Liberal do you not have...
  • User Avatartony123 24th May - 12:09am
    Look at how the Fianna Fail/ Green coalition worked out for the Greens. You'll struggle to find the Greens in Eire. As to Labour they...
  • User AvatarAndrew S Hatton 23rd May - 11:58pm
    All this LD hand wringing is about not retaining the power and influence that was accepted by the Parliamentary Party who agreed the deal in...
  • User AvatarTony Greaves 23rd May - 11:06pm
    Just won a referendum which we could not.
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 11:06pm
    For those many graduates who do not get to earn high salaries, who in the end do not have to pay anything or not very...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015