Tag Archives: home secretary

Julian Huppert MP writes … Communications Data Bill cannot proceed

Last week the Home Secretary claimed that anyone who opposes the Draft Communications Data Bill, dubbed the Snoopers Charter, was supporting paedophiles and terrorists.

She argued, “Criminals, terrorists and paedophiles will want MPs to vote against this bill. Victims of crime, police and the public will want them to vote for it. It’s a question of whose side you’re on.”

We’ve heard that argument before. Tony Blair used similar arguments to

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 8 Comments

CC all your email to Jacqui Smith Day

The Government have plans to start a massive database recording every phone call you make, every email you send, and every text you remove the vowels from.  They have named this bizarre plan the Interception Modernisation Programme, which hardly sounds reassuring, and is still more concerning as the acronym IMP.

But just as the plan to exempt MPs from the FOI bill spurred an impressive new generation of campaigning via Twitter, the big mad database plan has prompted some novel forms of protest.

“CC your email to Jacqui Smith Day” is a group and a fan page on Facebook that …

Posted in Big mad database and Online politics | Also tagged , , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAdrian 28th May - 10:28am
    @James Hardy Fair enough. If you can point me to some reading material on what alternatives the Liberal Democrats propose I would appreciate it.
  • User AvatarSimon Horner 28th May - 10:28am
    I think the last time a single party got more than 50% of the vote was in 1900 when the Tories won. The Liberal and...
  • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 28th May - 10:23am
    Those of us of more mature years remember that Tower Hamlets was once run by pre-merger Liberals who pioneered the system of dividing an unwieldy...
  • User AvatarJames Hardy 28th May - 10:21am
    @Adrian, I can't speak for the original poster, but for myself, yes I did make criticisms such as these. It has been Liberal Party policy...
  • User AvatarRaddiy 28th May - 10:21am
    Might I remind you of 2010. On a 65.3% turnout, the Conservatives got 36.1% and the LibDems got 23% of the vote, which means the...
  • User AvatarDav 28th May - 10:12am
    these all show how much we trust 16- and 17-year-olds with very important decisions in their lifetime at their age, and yet we still do...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015