Tag Archives: honours

Liberal Democrats in the New Year Honours list

While we have been preparing our own Liberal Democrat Stars of 2013 (you can still submit your nominations), the Government has published its own list of recipients of New Year Honours list. For the first time ever, surprisingly since women make up more than half the population, they make up a slight majority of this list. It really might be time, though, for them to change the outdated way they list women. Married women are listed as their first names, then Mrs surname. Others have the designation Ms. ┬áThis is not the case for men, who are simply listed …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , and | 11 Comments

Arise, Sir Malcolm*

Gary Barlow and Kate Winslet are very lucky. Not only did they get to meet the Queen today as they received their respective CBE and OBE medals at Buckingham Palace, but they were in the same batch, if that’s the right word, as our very own Sir Malcolm Bruce.

It dawns on me that Barlow and Bruce are quite close to each other in the alphabet so they may even have been sitting near each other.

Sir Malcolm and Lady Bruce enjoyed a celebratory lunch with family and

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 1 Comment

Lib Dems should have had no part in ‘Knights of the Long Knives’ reshuffle honours

Nick Harvey’s had a tough week. On Tuesday his ministerial career was brought to an abrupt and surprising halt when Nick Clegg told him he was ‘trading’ his post of armed forces minister for a Lib Dem foothold in another department.

The North Devon MP has been a victim of his own success. So shrewdly has he overseen the Trident nuclear weapons review — the crunch defence decision which divides Lib Dems and Tories — that it is highly likely to produce more effective, better value deterrent options, with a final decision not needed until 2016, after the next …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 21 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 3rd Jul - 6:06pm
    Some of the comments above seem to emanate from a fantasy land in which there are "devolved matters" related to England. England does not have...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 3rd Jul - 6:02pm
    How can there be special rules for votes on "English laws," a category of law which does not even exist? If there is an interest...
  • User AvatarPeter Galton 3rd Jul - 5:45pm
    There are so many reason why are vote fell back. If we look at results from the past both in Britain and else where we...
  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 5:35pm
    Well done. You know, I don't think the public are so anti line dem and I don't think recovery should take 20 years, I think...
  • User AvatarAndrew Lye 3rd Jul - 5:24pm
    Please don't criticise over the spelling of the word councillor. I have a hell of a time on my tablet and smartphone with predictive text....
  • User AvatarDavid 3rd Jul - 5:21pm
    @george the voters in England were asked if the wanted a regional assembly and rejected it. So we have what we have, now please explain...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015