Tag Archives: hospitals

Farron backs ‘Get Better, Get British’ campaign to get more UK food into our hospitals

Tim Farron in his constituencyFarmers Weekly reports:

Liberal Democrat president Tim Farron has called for a parliamentary debate based on Farmers Weekly’s campaign to get more UK food into our hospitals. Mr Farron, who is also MP for Westmorland and Lonsdale, launched an early day motion in support of the Get Better, Get British campaign on 5 June. The motion calls for MPs to debate the issue at the earliest opportunity and calls on the Department of Health and DEFRA to support the campaign’s aims.

And here is early day motion

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 4 Comments

Opinion: Our NHS – the good, the bad and the ugly

nhs sign lrgIt is a week since Robert Francis’s report on the Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust exposed massive failures in the NHS, from top to bottom.

The silence from the political left is deafening. Of course there has been the usual horror and condemnation, and calls for heads to roll. But this wasn’t just a case of lax professional standards, which can be sorted out with a bit of culture training, it was complete system failure from cleaner up to Prime Minister.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 23 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 6th Jul - 10:53pm
    "The inheritance tax threshold rise is just a stupid promise made by the conservatives" Inheritance tax is a tax you do not have to pay,...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 6th Jul - 10:20pm
    Thanks for highlighting this, Paul. It's going to be interesting because even if any Tory felt exercised enough by this abuse of process by the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 6th Jul - 10:09pm
    @ Mr Wallace 9 lib Dems, 1 UKIP and 1 Green actually! But don't let a report by the Electoral Reform Society based on a...
  • User AvatarJamie Stewart 6th Jul - 10:01pm
    Thanks for the comments. My main impetus for writing this was George Osborne's clever politics, and I was shoving it out there partly for people...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 6th Jul - 9:55pm
    @JohnTilley Pointing out how his suggestions are flawed and not actually feasible is not "doing the work of The Conservatives and the property spivs ",...
  • User AvatarMrWallace 6th Jul - 9:54pm
    Be grateful you lost the AV vote. AV would mean 1 UKIP MP, zero greens and <3 lib dems. Why they campaigned for such an...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015