Tag Archives: intellectual property rights

Catherine Bearder MEP writes… Lib Dem MEPs kill ACTA

After careful consideration, Lib Dem MEPs have decided to reject the controversial Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) in the European Parliament. There is now a majority in the Parliament that will reject the ratification of this plurilateral treaty originally designed to establish international standards for intellectual property rights.

So why do we reject ACTA?

In principle, Lib Dems support the protection of intellectual property rights (IPR) and the fight against counterfeiting – in particular when it comes to dangerous counterfeit medicines, electronics and toys. But we are also champions of fundamental rights and freedoms and we must weigh up carefully between the need to …

Posted in News and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMrWallace 4th Jul - 9:09pm
    PR as a red line no nonsense about a referendum? When I ask why this wasn't done in 2010 I'm told because it would be...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:55pm
    I should have said "look after their children for part of the time" of course! Unless your are aristocracy...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:53pm
    OK, my feelings on this: having children is a choice. Children are wonderful, but they are very demanding. Bringing them up as well-socialised, positive members...
  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 4th Jul - 8:24pm
    I recall too many cases where children have died at the hands of their carers and, although various individuals thought something was amiss, they were...
  • User AvatarNick Thornsby 4th Jul - 8:06pm
    Jennie and John - are you suggesting we abolish court fees altogether? I disagree with the increase implemented by the coalition but I don't see...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 4th Jul - 7:55pm
    In what way do you see this as "extending state powers"?
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015