Tag Archives: jane ellison

Proof that not *all* Tories are bonkers on Europe (and nor was Mrs Thatcher)

margaret thatcher europeAmidst all the Tory Euro-hysteria (‘Eurotic’, I’ve heard it described as: and I seriously hope I didn’t mis-hear) it’s easy to forget there are a few Tories, a diminishing if stoic band, who have kept tight hold of their senses.

And though it was David Cameron’s desperate last-ditch pitch for the job of Tory leader — his 2005 promise to his party’s Europhobes to withdraw the Tories from the mainstream centre-right EPP alliance, a policy even David Davis wouldn’t touch — which has, slowly but inevitably, dragged the party ever more fringewards, a few of his backbenchers remain hopeful they can persuade him, even now, to do the sensible thing.

Here’s some of what they’ve written to him:

We acknowledge the EU’s shortcomings and understand the desire and, under the Lisbon Treaty the possibility, to repatriate powers. However, we do our nation, as well as Europe, a disservice by not confidently exerting the same level of engagement and leadership as we demonstrate in organisations such as NATO, the G8, the UN Security Council or the Commonwealth.

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAdam Perry 2nd Jul - 10:05pm
    John, well if the liberal Archbishop Tutu said it! Over a period of time aimed at innocent citizens, israel has that dubious accolade, in a...
  • User AvatarJo Hayes 2nd Jul - 8:44pm
    Ruth, the slogan about the party cutting less and borrowing less was not a matter of integrity! The slogan so far as it went was...
  • User AvatarTsar Nicholas 2nd Jul - 8:36pm
    Charlie Many climatologists rely on historical data and not on models. The models tend to be quite accurate for large parts of the world but...
  • User AvatarStuart 2nd Jul - 7:53pm
    Looking at the photographs, it appears that over half the "Ethnic Minority Lib Dems" are... white.
  • User AvatarDavid Raw 2nd Jul - 7:33pm
    Sorry, too many Blair type sentences without verbs about 'Real People'. As an unreal person, I'd go easy on the 'history's chosen instrument' bit when...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 2nd Jul - 7:23pm
    Matthew Huntbach - 'The official line was equal between the two, with the assumption that initial negotiations on a coalition would be with whichever was...
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015