Tag Archives: jeremy browne mp

Jeremy Browne hits out at “arbitrary” mansion tax

Jeremy Browne - Minister for Crime PreventionIn today’s Times (£), Jeremy Browne slams the Lib Dem plans for a mansion tax:

Plans to introduce an “arbitrary” mansion tax on expensive homes will “undermine the fundamental principles of private ownership”, a former Lib Dem minister has warned.

photo by: ukhomeoffice
Posted in News | Also tagged and | 72 Comments

Jeremy Browne MP writes…There is no opt out clause for equality for women and girls in a liberal society

In my lifetime, the role of women and girls in British society has been transformed. There has been an emancipation revolution.

Many of these changes have been legal. It seems remarkable today to reflect that, until 1975, women were not allowed to buy a house without financial guarantees being provided by a man, typically their father or husband.Other changes have been cultural. It is extraordinary, for example, that until 1972 a female diplomat in the Foreign Office was required to resign if she got married.

As each of these barriers to female attainment has been removed, women have capitalised on the opportunities …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 30th May - 1:19pm
    The link is to the Huffington Post.
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 30th May - 1:12pm
    Caron, the HRA is *not* a perfect piece of legislation. It has resulted in some illiberal outcomes - one case which springs to mind is...
  • User AvatarDavid 30th May - 1:05pm
    @Tony All parties actively get some tactical votes, but only the lib dems make getting them the main thrust of their campaign, and that's the...
  • User AvatarCharlie 30th May - 1:01pm
    John Tilley Germans did skilled work: immigrants did unskilled work.
  • User Avatarwayne simmons 30th May - 12:51pm
    Yeah, this seems very tabloid-esque, guys. Also short changes Norman at a time when I would have hoped you, as a publication, would remain unbiased...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 30th May - 12:44pm
    Sara, I think you need to look at some of the cases decided under each article to show how important the HRA is. Until we...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015