Tag Archives: joanna hindley

Maria Miller, the Telegraph and Leveson: how statutory regulation begins & how the press is bringing it on itself

Now I’m more than a little sceptical about Leveson: I think he’s firing the wrong bullet (regulation backed by statute) at a target that’s moving out of range (the ‘dead tree press’). However, I’m also deeply sceptical about the press’s ability to report facts straight.

Which leaves me a bit conflicted at this morning’s report: The minister and a warning to the Telegraph before expenses story.

On the one hand, you have a clear signal of the danger of letting politicians anywhere near

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMike S 1st Jul - 12:57am
    In the time it's taken me to write it - your post is now 6 up from here. Notice a few other's are just as...
  • User AvatarMike S 1st Jul - 12:53am
    Phil "The issue of trust will never go away as long as people in this party persist in believing that it’s acceptable to go around...
  • User AvatarDavid Evans 1st Jul - 12:53am
    Yet another attempt to rewrite the disaster that was Nick Clegg and tuition fees by the usual suspects. Nick promised "An end to broken promises"....
  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 1st Jul - 12:44am
    @Kevin Manley '… every single Lib Dem MP pledged to their voters in their constituency to vote against a rise, if and when the issue...
  • User AvatarMark Valladares 1st Jul - 12:33am
    @Joe Otten, This is the language as drafted by you; ", and subject to the Leader's right to veto the inclusion of any specific policy."...
  • User AvatarTpfkar 1st Jul - 12:26am
    We just can't move on from tuition fees - one of the biggest internal challenges facing the new leader. How do we live with what...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015