Tag Archives: john hart

Will Tory Barnet’s ‘Ryanair Council’ model backfire?

There’s been plenty of reaction to yesterday’s Guardian story in which Tory-controlled Barnet council revelled in their plans to adopt the practices of no-frills airlines like Ryanair in their delivery of local services:

Barnet wants householders to pay extra to jump the queue for planning consents, in the way budget airlines charge extra for priority boarding. And as budget airline passengers choose to spend their budget on either flying at peaktime or having an in-flight meal, recipients of adult social care in Barnet will choose to spend a limited budget on whether to have a cleaner or a respite carer or even a holiday to Eastbourne. Other examples of proposed reforms include reducing the size of waste bins to minimise the cost of council rubbish collections.

The proposals are being seen as an example of “new Conservatism” which is spreading among Tory-controlled boroughs. Observers believe “radical outriders” such as Barnet offer a glimpse of how a David Cameron government could overhaul public service provision in an era of heavy spending cuts.

The Evening Standard’s Paul Waugh has dug out a couple of revealing quotes, first from Tory Barnet councillor John Hart:

With council tenants, and I’ll admit I am putting it crudely, it has been a lot of ‘my arse needs wiping, and somebody from the council can come and do it for me’.”

Posted in Local government and News | Also tagged , , , , and | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Allen 27th May - 12:48pm
    "We" make objective criticisms about policies: "They" demonise the people they don't like. How can we avoid over-use of this word "demonise"? It seems to...
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 27th May - 12:48pm
    Chris I added a little bit on my comment above after publication, then you replied so you might have missed it, so here it is...
  • User AvatarChrisB 27th May - 12:46pm
    @david-1 >part of the Lib Dems’ narrative — and one which may not go over >terribly well — is that they are the party of...
  • User AvatarAlistair 27th May - 12:45pm
    Matthew H, it wasnt the fact of the coalition but the execution of it from negotiations and rose garden onwards.
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 12:44pm
    Matthew Huntbach “The line “we’ll give a brain to a Labour government and a heart to a Conservative one” was NOT neutral. It was basically...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 27th May - 12:42pm
    Sally Haynes-Preece My apologies for getting your name wrong in my original comment.
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015