Tag Archives: john morrison

Man convicted of killing former Lib Dem Council leader John Morrison

Almost exactly a year ago, former Lib Dem East Dunbartonshire council leader John Morrison died after being assaulted o on the way home from a night out in Glasgow.

Today, the BBC reports::

A man has been convicted of killing a former East Dunbartonshire council leader days before Christmas last year.

Darren Murphy, 25, punched 50-year-old John Morrison on the head in Dunlop Street, Glasgow, on 22 December, causing him to fall over.

Mr Morrison died after striking his head on the ground. Murphy left him in the street to go to a nightclub.

There is quite a lot more detail, but …

Posted in News | Leave a comment

LibLink: Alistair Carmichael MP’s heartfelt appreciation of John Morrison

A week ago, former East Dunbartonshire Liberal Democrat Council leader John Morrison died soon after being assaulted in Glasgow. In today’s Herald, Liberal Democrat chief whip in the House of Commons Alistair Carmichael, a close friend of John’s for 30 years, has written an appreciation of his life. He takes us through John’s university days as a top debater, through his professional life as a solicitor, and his role as a senior councillor in rescuing East Dunbartonshire Council from a dire financial situation. For our chief whip, John was

  a friend and a 30-year source of support, honest advice

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged and | Leave a comment

Scottish Liberal Democrats mourn ex Council Leader John Morrison

John Morrison with Jo Swinson MPScottish Liberal Democrats were shocked to learn of the sudden death of former East Dunbartonshire Council Leader John Morrison at the age of just 50. The Sunday Herald reports that John was found unconscious as the result of an assault in a Glasgow Street early on Saturday morning and died later in hospital.

John was affectionately known as Hobbit throughout the Scottish party. He had acquired that nickname while at Glasgow University and bore it with his customary good humour. He’d been a leading …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSteve 30th Jun - 9:12am
    A very interesting debate. I must get down to reading the Greens manifesto etc as my thoughts had been moving me in that direction for...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 30th Jun - 9:00am
    "PWRs burn up only a small part of the fuel leaving the majority furiously radioactive and dangerous for 100,000s years." Radioactivity works in terms of...
  • User AvatarTim Oliver 30th Jun - 8:48am
    Once again - I did not join an anti-Tory party. I joined a Liberal party. My politics are not about who I oppose but what...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 30th Jun - 8:18am
    @Andrew "The problem is not the people who only vote in General elections, but the fact that many of our local voters (even when we...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 30th Jun - 7:09am
    All these hustings meetings and all these questionnaire replies buy the real choice is -- "Who is best equipped to save the party from extinction?"...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 30th Jun - 6:51am
    Eddie Sammon 30th Jun '15 - 3:08am John, by “hard-headed” I mean “what wins sustainable votes”. Thanks Eddie, so you mean we should have a...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015