Tag Archives: joint committee on human rights

Human Rights Committee criticises Terrorism Bill for plans to block UK citizens and for challenges to academic freedom

The knee-jerk reaction to any act of terrorism is to propose yet more regulations and legislation to prevent future attacks or to deal with the attackers. As liberals we have to be very careful to ensure that our civil and human rights are not being curtailed unnecessarily.

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 4 Comments

Lord Alderdice writes… Improving the Justice and Security Bill

Last night the House of Lords debated and voted on the Justice and Security Bill at its Report stage. I know from reading Lib Dem Voice and from listening to the recent debate at Conference what a touchstone issue this Bill is for many members. Which is why I want to explain how the Bill, which we have now passed to the Commons, is a very different beast from that originally under consideration.

Some of you will have seen that the Joint Committee on Human Rights (JCHR) produced a unanimous report last week. We have two eminent Liberal …

Posted in Parliament | Also tagged , , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid Allen 30th Jun - 3:15pm
    TCO: I doubt whether any of the parties offered the poor Greeks the chance to vote for a serious onslaught on tax evasion. Yes, Syriza...
  • User AvatarNick Thornsby 30th Jun - 3:12pm
    Sorry, Malcolm - no, the latter part of my comment wasn't aimed in your direction. I'm not so sure re tuition fees. It's obviously impossible...
  • User AvatarMalcolm Todd 30th Jun - 2:57pm
    Agreed, Phyllis. Perhaps "resign" could become a word that triggers the auto-m*der*t*r!
  • User AvatarMalcolm Todd 30th Jun - 2:55pm
    Nick Thornsby Not sure if your whole comment was directed to me, but I'm not arguing that the veto is inherently democratic, just the implied...
  • User AvatarRoger Lake 30th Jun - 2:54pm
    31. 9.12 Good on yer, Steve. I'm pleased to think I may have sparked an interesting debate -- one that I hope will continue in...
  • User AvatarRoger Lake 30th Jun - 2:51pm
    27. 2.07 Important questions about Labour, indeed. I think they might do, after more reflection than they've shown so far. They have respected elders who...
Tue 30th Jun 2015
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015