Tag Archives: Justice and Security Bil

Jo Shaw asks… Is there a way out of the Secret Courts mess?

It’s a strange and rare thing for a Liberal Democrat to be pinning her hopes for a civil liberties victory on a combination of government bad faith, Conservatives of principle voting the right way and Labour sticking to their guns. Yet that combination, combined with the votes of Lib Dem MPs, could offer a lifeline for those campaigning to defeat secret courts contained in the Justice and Security Bill.

The Bill is now in Committee in the Commons. At the last possible moment the government published its proposed amendments to the Bill. The government line is that these amendments clarify the …

Posted in News | Also tagged | 17 Comments

The Independent View: National security is paramount but ‘secret courts’ are an illiberal attack on British justice

Supreme Court - Some rights reserved by cphoffman42In September 2012, the Liberal Democrat Conference voted overwhelmingly against the most contentious aspect of the government’s Justice and Security Bill – the extension of ‘secret courts’, otherwise known as Closed Material Procedures (CMPs), into civil courts.

This would allow ministers to submit a CMP application to a judge that material relating to national security be withheld from the defendant/claimant and their legal team despite being used as evidence. As Andrew Tyrie MP and Anthony Peto QC explain in “Neither Just nor Secure”, published today by the Centre for Policy Studies, this is worrying because “in an adversarial system such as the English one, the right to know and challenge the opposing case is not merely a feature of the system, it is the system”.

Posted in The Independent View | Also tagged , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarHelen Quenet 22nd May - 6:23pm
    Wayne, I had an exchange with Norman on Twitter this week. He would NOT vote for the repeal of the hunting. It was a deal...
  • User AvatarHelen Quenet 22nd May - 6:19pm
    During the election I did feel harassed for money, particularly towards the end of the campaign. I also felt that that the money I gave...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 22nd May - 5:59pm
    Great article Hannah and good stuff from Miriam too.
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 22nd May - 5:55pm
    I'm surprised that whether Lib Dems should run negative campaigns is up for debate. Of course they should. So I agree with the article. You...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 22nd May - 5:41pm
    In any case, the result of Alistair's clever ploy was to strengthen the SNP in Scotland, strengthen the Tories in England, and lose the Lib...
  • User AvatarSarah Noble 22nd May - 5:40pm
    FWIW, I have issues with C's in that they seem to be complicit in the PSOE/PP-led stitch up against the Catalan population being able to...
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015