Tag Archives: kiran stacey

Eastleigh by-election: your essential round-up of the latest campaign news (12 Feb)

Here’s a round-up of news from the past 24 hours in the Eastleigh by-election…

mike thornton eastleigh jon aylwinNick Clegg offered Lib Dem candidate Mike Thornton his full backing on a visit to Eastleigh on Monday. Here‘s the Guardian report:

“I am confident we will keep hold of this seat but not because I say so but because the people of Eastleigh are telling us that,” said Clegg. Focusing on the party’s local dominance – it is the only place in the country where every councillor at district and county level is a Liberal Democrat – he said voters would focus on its “record of action” and said the party had “to be quite clear where our differences lie”. … Speaking after meeting students at the local college, Clegg said: “Cutting council tax, promoting more apprenticeships, creating jobs, protecting green spaces – those are things that Liberal Democrats haven’t just talked about, they are things they have actually done and it’s a record of which we are tremendously proud.”

It’s not just Nick Clegg who’s been doing his Eastleigh stint, though. Pictured above (with thanks to Jon Aylwin) is North Devon MP Nick Harvey out canvassing with Mike and some of his supporters.

Want to join the hundreds of Lib Dems who are doing their bit to help get Mike elected as the next Lib Dem MP for Eastleigh on 28th February? Here’s a reminder of how YOU can make a difference:

  • Volunteer to help in Eastleigh itself
  • Make phone calls for the party if you can’t get there in person
  • Give a donation to help fund the campaign.
  • Posted in News and Parliamentary by-elections | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 5 Comments
    Advert



    Recent Comments

    • User AvatarMichael Hall 2nd Jul - 8:58am
      Norman "Why not enable government to provide new housing on public land at market rents, while using the returns to invest in more affordable housing?"...
    • User AvatarPrue Bray 2nd Jul - 8:57am
      I for one am fed up with fellow Lib Dems shooting at other fellow Lib Dems. We all have far more in common than drives...
    • User AvatarNick Tregoning 2nd Jul - 8:55am
      Good article Caron. If Catherine's concerns are lightweight, then I'm also a lightweight, and so are very many of my friends and family. Why does...
    • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 2nd Jul - 8:32am
      @Eddie Sammon 'I thought Sammy O’Neill was a man?' Me, I've had an open mind about Sammy's gender. In my great-grandfather's time, Sam or Sammy...
    • User AvatarIan Sanderson (RM3) 2nd Jul - 8:27am
      @Sammy @Caron Couldn't also be the concern of Jeanne Tarrant, LibDem Pastoral Care Officer? I realise dealing with such issues is a very delicate matter...
    • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 2nd Jul - 7:57am
      @Sammy: On the one hand the party is incredibly sexist as I have found first hand- I don’t know any female lib dem members who...
    Thu 2nd Jul 2015
    Fri 3rd Jul 2015
    Sat 4th Jul 2015
    10:00
    10:00
    Sun 5th Jul 2015
    03:00
    Mon 6th Jul 2015
    Wed 8th Jul 2015
    Thu 9th Jul 2015
    Fri 10th Jul 2015
    Sat 11th Jul 2015
    Sun 12th Jul 2015
    Thu 16th Jul 2015
    Sat 18th Jul 2015
    Sun 19th Jul 2015
    Thu 23rd Jul 2015
    Sat 25th Jul 2015
    Sun 26th Jul 2015
    Mon 27th Jul 2015
    Thu 30th Jul 2015