Tag Archives: lancet

Opinion: The Nutt affair – or, the thin line between evidence and policy

Firstly, a disclaimer: I am a scientist, who is also interested in governance and politics, so the following post may come across as somewhat heated. Apologies, but I do feel that the recent furore over Prof. David Nutt’s sacking as Chair of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (ACMD) goes right to the heart of why I took up both science and politics as profession and interest respectively.

We begin with Prof. Nutt’s most recent criticism of the government’s drugs policy, which attracted headlines for claiming that alcohol, despite being legal and freely available, was more harmful than the Class A narcotic ecstasy (MDMA). At first sight this may seem like an outlandish statement to make, but the evidence, collated by Prof. Nutt, suggests otherwise; granted, the recent publication from Nutt’s The Centre for Crime and Justice Studies (CCJS) at King’s College London wasn’t peer-reviewed, but the methodologies used to calculate his ‘harm index’ were so, and published in one of the most respected medical journals, The Lancet in 2007 (the full article is behind a paywall, contact me if you want the pdf…). Just to repeat this – using what seems to me to be a robust method, taking into account everything from physical harm to the user to social harms at large, ecstasy does indeed seem to be less dangerous than alcohol, and it’s using this tried and tested method of enquiry that Nutt used to conclude that cannabis should remain a class C drug.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDave Raval 25th May - 12:05pm
    Lots of interesting posts on this thread – thanks everyone and keep it up. I thought I’d wait a while before coming back in to...
  • User AvatarMartin Elengorn 25th May - 12:03pm
    There is little sign that economic liberalism is capable of addressing climate change issues. A singular lack of reference to these in the debate.
  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 25th May - 11:49am
    Jock Coats 25th May '15 - 10:51am "I don’t believe in “state co-operatives”. As a way of the state getting rid of its worst intrusions...
  • User Avatarmalc 25th May - 11:39am
    It might not be brief, but his views are shared by many. Can anyone really see Norman Lamb - decent man that he is -...
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 25th May - 11:38am
    Tony, this is a joint initiative - it came out as a joint press release.
  • User AvatarAlex Dingwall 25th May - 11:32am
    Michael i do not believe it is unfair to say Alistair lied because that is beyond doubt. You say that "Alistair did not at first...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015