Tag Archives: lancet

Opinion: The Nutt affair – or, the thin line between evidence and policy

Firstly, a disclaimer: I am a scientist, who is also interested in governance and politics, so the following post may come across as somewhat heated. Apologies, but I do feel that the recent furore over Prof. David Nutt’s sacking as Chair of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (ACMD) goes right to the heart of why I took up both science and politics as profession and interest respectively.

We begin with Prof. Nutt’s most recent criticism of the government’s drugs policy, which attracted headlines for claiming that alcohol, despite being legal and freely available, was more harmful than the Class A narcotic ecstasy (MDMA). At first sight this may seem like an outlandish statement to make, but the evidence, collated by Prof. Nutt, suggests otherwise; granted, the recent publication from Nutt’s The Centre for Crime and Justice Studies (CCJS) at King’s College London wasn’t peer-reviewed, but the methodologies used to calculate his ‘harm index’ were so, and published in one of the most respected medical journals, The Lancet in 2007 (the full article is behind a paywall, contact me if you want the pdf…). Just to repeat this – using what seems to me to be a robust method, taking into account everything from physical harm to the user to social harms at large, ecstasy does indeed seem to be less dangerous than alcohol, and it’s using this tried and tested method of enquiry that Nutt used to conclude that cannabis should remain a class C drug.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJim Williams 6th Jul - 6:24pm
    Hello all. Thanks for commenting. I couldn't agree more. My understanding is that Conference is moving towards one member one vote, but yes: we can...
  • User AvatarGordon 6th Jul - 6:07pm
    The case of LVT perfectly illustrates how, although Conference may think it decides party policy, it's actually the outcome of an fudge - Conference proposes,...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 5:56pm
    Just to clarify: the only problem I have with the Electoral Reform Society is that they don't explain STV properly. For as long as people...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 6th Jul - 5:46pm
    I agree revolution should not always be a dirty term (I support a peaceful revolution in Hong Kong, for example). However in the West it...
  • User AvatarGraham Evans 6th Jul - 5:43pm
    A lot of the discussion seems to have focused on operational structures. However, while this can be important in getting people elected, in terms of...
  • User AvatarSir Norfolk Passmore 6th Jul - 5:40pm
    I agree entirely with TCO and Greenfield. So, it seems, does Norman Lamb. I'd commend p28 of his "Giving Power to People" booklet: http://backnorman.co.uk/index.php/book/ Specifically,...
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015