Tag Archives: lee barron

How many votes will the Labour candidate who isn’t a candidate get?

Here’s an interesting twist to the tale of Lee Barron, the latest Labour Police Commissioner candidate who has had to pull out for a previous conviction.

This has come to light too late in the day for him to actually pull out of the election, so his name will still be on the ballot paper with the Labour Party’s name and logo next to it. If he’s elected, he will have to immediately resign, triggering a by-election.

For voters who don’t follow the news that closely, there is therefore …

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged | 4 Comments

Labour Police Commissioner candidate set to defy ban on magistrates

As if two Labour candidates for Police and Crime Commissioner posts running into problems with past misdeeds¬†wasn’t enough, now a third is set to defy the ban on magistrates standing:

Lee Barron, the Labour candidate for the new post, has revealed how is prepared to refuse to stand down as a magistrate before the election, which will be held in November.

Guidance issued last Friday by a senior judge has effectively barred magistrates from standing for the post, which in Northamptonshire comes with an estimated ¬£70,000 salary…

Posted in Election law | Also tagged | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 12:06am
    Hi Jennie. I suppose at first I didn't realise the liar tag was at stake again, but I still feel a general lack of consideration...
  • User AvatarAndrew Whyte 25th May - 12:04am
    I am a member, but have logged out to make this comment for reasons that will become obvious. Firstly, I am a Liberal from Grimond...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 11:44pm
    @Andrew spooky ... I've just done a you gov where the first questions were those grammar school questions. I understand your point about successful schools...
  • User AvatarA Social LIberal 24th May - 11:42pm
    Let me tell you about my local grammar schools, one for girls and one for boys. The only people who get into the school have...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 24th May - 11:31pm
    Anthony Hook, please can you elaborate on "Oh dear..."? People seem to be trying to discredit an endorsement because it has come from someone who...
  • User AvatarMaria 24th May - 11:27pm
    Andrew Whyte: 'reduce to one per constituency'? As far as I am aware, most local parties already comprise more than one constituency. There are not...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015