Tag Archives: legg report

Daily View 2×2: 4 February 2010

Good morning, on this misty day which in history saw three awful earthquakes – in Haicheng, Guatemala and Afghanistan.

This day is a birthday to American civil rights campaigner Rosa Parks (pictured) as well as to the American vice-president famously unable to spell “potato”, Dan Quayle.

Deaths on the 4th February include Liberace and American novelist novellist writer Patricia Highsmith, who wrote Strangers on a Train, The Talented Mr Ripley, and – according to Wikipedia at least – the first lesbian novel with a happy ending.

Today is also Facebook’s 6th birthday. How many other 6 year-olds earned $300m last year, had new words entered into dictionaries, and caused moral panic?

2 Big Stories

Legg Report published

Later today, Sir Thomas Legg’s report will be published on Parliament’s website. The Guardian – MPs ordered to pay back more than £1m reports:

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 5th Jul - 1:40pm
    I agree with Mick Taylor that strong regional parties are desirable, but it seems to me that an essential precondition for that is the independent...
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 5th Jul - 1:17pm
    "The big problem with a referendum is that people don’t vote on the question but on some hot political issue. The farcical referendum on AV...
  • User AvatarNotTellingYou 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    As if midwives, health visitors and teachers aren't busy enough? Speaking as a person who, as a child, had numerous social workers and was still...
  • User AvatarColin 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    Identity politics will be the death of this party. How can the Lib Dems have any kind of broad appeal when those who challenge demonstrably...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    We have to deal with the world as it is rather than as we'd like it to be. I want regional devolution in England (though...
  • User AvatarChrisB 5th Jul - 12:43pm
    >"Tim Farron’s call for the UK to take 60,000 migrants" I was too busy thinking about my own backyard and missed this vote winning beauty....
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015