Tag Archives: leisure

Sheffield Labour councillor opposes own decision

Sheffield City Hall - Some rights reserved by Welcome to SheffieldAngela Smith, MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge has called on Sheffield City Council not to close Stocksbridge Leisure Centre. Stocksbridge is in the remote rural north of Sheffield and local people will not have the same access to alternatives that others in Sheffield might.

So who is making the proposal to close Stocksbridge Leisure Centre? Well it turns out that the cabinet advisor for leisure on Sheffield City Council is Smith’s husband, one Cllr Steve Wilson.

Might this be a topic to discuss at home before troubling the press?

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAshley 29th May - 8:58am
    Danny Finkelstein talks nonsense. We are part of one of the longest political traditions in British politics. Liberalism is not something you can just cast...
  • User AvatarPeter Sigrist 29th May - 8:48am
    @Matthew Huntbach I suspect we largely agree with one another (though you make it sound like we're diametrically opposed). I'll take your lucid argument and...
  • User AvatarAWills 29th May - 8:46am
    He comes across as a throughly decent person, and a safe choice.
  • User AvatarKeith Edkins 29th May - 8:24am
    Editorial sponsorship by an airport is a specialized meaning of the word "Independent" of which I was not previously aware
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 29th May - 8:05am
    As a Liberal I believe this is such a fundamental matter of individual conscience, self determination and individual human rights that we should permit and...
  • User Avatarwilliam jones 29th May - 8:03am
    The author who is a Liberal Democrat member in Barcelona is right people do join us for different reasons other than being elected.
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015