Tag Archives: leisure

Sheffield Labour councillor opposes own decision

Sheffield City Hall - Some rights reserved by Welcome to SheffieldAngela Smith, MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge has called on Sheffield City Council not to close Stocksbridge Leisure Centre. Stocksbridge is in the remote rural north of Sheffield and local people will not have the same access to alternatives that others in Sheffield might.

So who is making the proposal to close Stocksbridge Leisure Centre? Well it turns out that the cabinet advisor for leisure on Sheffield City Council is Smith’s husband, one Cllr Steve Wilson.

Might this be a topic to discuss at home before troubling the press?

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | 12 Comments

Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 13th Oct - 9:59pm
    Caron - Not getting at you or anyone else here. I hear an awful lot that Scotland is some sort of pro-EU hotbed. Is it?...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 13th Oct - 9:55pm
    Stuart I'm still wondering where "in bra" fits in, and whether it has anything to do with Steohen Tall.
  • User AvatarCaron Lindsay 13th Oct - 9:45pm
    Bruce, I've just been thinking about how the SNP might pitch their EU Referendum campaign. My guess is that it will help to deliver a...
  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 13th Oct - 9:45pm
    Tory politicians seem to think that the BBC is biased against them. They may have a point occasionally. For instance this week the Daily Politics...
  • User AvatarStuart 13th Oct - 9:43pm
    @Dave Orbison "Is there a clear statement from the LibDems explaining their position ahead of the vote?" Well according to Joe Otten's helpful quoting of...
  • User AvatarWill 13th Oct - 9:37pm
    @T-J "Will, you’re playing silly games with the most important question put to referendum in this country since the 1970s. " When somebody else has...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015