Tag Archives: les ebdon

In other news… Vince upsets Tories, Liverpool to choose mayor, Radcliffe hexes Clegg, and Hughes settles with Murdoch

Here’s a round-up of stories we haven’t had time to cover on the site this past week…

  • Cable sticks by Les Ebdon as his choice of ‘university tsar’ – the Lib Dem business secretary is opening up a rift in the Coalition:

    Business Secretary Vince Cable is standing by his candidate to head the university fair access watchdog, despite a rejection by MPs. Les Ebdon had been put forward by ministers as their preference for director of the Office for Fair Access. But MPs on a select committee have voted to try to block the appointment. However ministers are not backing

  • Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , and | Leave a comment
    Advert



    Recent Comments

    • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 23rd May - 8:09am
      Interesting background socio-political analysis from Guy immediately followed by Bill le Breton's excellent comments and (Gareth Epps) links. I will be visiting/revisiting these over the...
    • User AvatarHelen Dudden 23rd May - 7:51am
      A country with history. Things are not easy there at present, again, not an article. I comment on Brussels 11a and the Hague Convention it...
    • User AvatarTCO 23rd May - 7:22am
      @Alex Macfie yes I'm well aware of the Liberal Revival starting in local government. But basing any hopes of national revival on that track is...
    • User AvatarTCO 23rd May - 6:56am
      @Mark Argent that's a very perceptive analysis. There's a seductive line of thought that wishes to "takes us back to the days of Kennedy" when,...
    • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:44am
      What truly bothers me is that we have part of the UK government essentially spying on the Scottish government (via the French!), and everyone seems...
    • User AvatarDavid-1 23rd May - 1:33am
      Roland: "It’s a oath of allegiance not some aspirational mumbo jumbo." No, it is. That's exactly what it is. The problem is that you don't...
    Sat 23rd May 2015
    Sun 24th May 2015
    Mon 25th May 2015
    12:05
    Tue 26th May 2015
    Wed 27th May 2015
    Thu 28th May 2015
    Fri 29th May 2015
    19:30
    Sat 30th May 2015
    Sun 31st May 2015
    Mon 1st Jun 2015
    Wed 3rd Jun 2015
    Thu 4th Jun 2015
    Sat 6th Jun 2015
    Thu 11th Jun 2015
    Fri 12th Jun 2015
    Sat 13th Jun 2015
    Wed 17th Jun 2015
    Thu 18th Jun 2015