Tag Archives: leveson

LibLink: Anthony Lester – My vision of a Leveson law

Liberal Democrat peer Anthony Lester has written for the Guardian about his independent Press Council bill which he introduced in the House of Lords yesterday.

If his measure became law, it would be the Supreme Court rather than OFCOM which would ensure that the independent self regulatory body was genuinely independent and complying with the principles Lord Leveson set out in his report.

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged , , and | 1 Comment

Michael Moore’s Westminster Notes

Every week, Liberal Democrat Secretary of State for Scotland Michael Moore writes a column for newspapers in his Borders constituency. Here’s this week’s edition.

St Andrew’s Day

Last week, as Secretary of State for Scotland, I gave the inaugural speech in the annual St Andrew’s Day Address which is being established this year at the Scotland Office in London. This annual Address will see individuals in business, education, politics, media, charities and the arts speaking to an audience in London …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMick Taylor 5th Jul - 3:55pm
    George Potter I can't speak for other regions, but here in Yorkshire we have our own conference and make policy as a region and yes,...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 5th Jul - 3:35pm
    Just as the UK is culturally and economically diverse, we must recognise this to be true for England and its regions also. The continuation of...
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 5th Jul - 2:39pm
    @ T-J - " Mick Taylor, in many ways I wasn’t English until I came to Scotland. Nasty xenophobic nationalism has just been a fact...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 5th Jul - 2:31pm
    60,000 migrants. So, this is roughly 90 refugees per constituency in Britain, presumably not all coming at once. Hardly scary electorally, surely, even if manipulated...
  • User AvatarPaul Pettinger 5th Jul - 2:24pm
    Cornwall and most of Devon have been cut off from the rest of UK severals times in recent years due to errosion on the line...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 5th Jul - 1:40pm
    I agree with Mick Taylor that strong regional parties are desirable, but it seems to me that an essential precondition for that is the independent...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015