Tag Archives: liberal democrat conference fringe

Opinion: Worst past the post? Debating electoral reform for local government

Last year in May, Scottish voters were given the chance to vote using the Single Transferable Vote to select their local councillors for the second time since the introduction of the Local Governance (Scotland) Act of 2004. The Bill owes its life to the Liberal Democrats; it was a key demand for us entering into the Lib-Lab coalition government in Scotland. Almost ten years on from when the Bill became law, STV has done what it says on the tin. It has produced almost proportional results (exact proportionality is pretty much impossible under any system), it has almost doubled the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 8 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarLorenzo Cherin 27th Jul - 1:13am
    I really commend Fiona , Paul , Richard , for their positive attitude while also recognising the difficult situation our party faces . I am...
  • User Avatarmalc 27th Jul - 12:15am
    Looking at the latest ICM opinion poll this Lib Dem attitude to those who voted Brexit doesn't seem to be helping. Labour support down to...
  • User AvatarConor McGovern 27th Jul - 12:04am
    *No democrat !
  • User AvatarConor McGovern 27th Jul - 12:04am
    Hillary Clinton's no liberal, no liberal and no progressive.
  • User AvatarLorenzo Cherin 27th Jul - 12:01am
    David Raw If , instead of insulting by condescention after having read , barely , but one comment , you had ever bothered to read...
  • User AvatarTim13 26th Jul - 11:43pm
    Another Devon Lib Dem. Just to say - as Agent in the Exmouth byelection - we do sometimes campaign against inappropriately sited new housing, but...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016