Tag Archives: liberal philososophy

The Green Book – new directions for Liberals in government

green-bookYesterday saw the launch of a book project that I’ve been working on with colleagues over the last year. Between us, we persuaded 27 authors to put pen to paper and say what should be in a programme for government, one that’s fit for the world we live in today. Some 70 people from business, NGOs, academia, think-tanks and political parties joined us in Westminster for the launch.

Our choice of the title “Green Book” is a very conscious nod towards the Orange Book of a decade ago and indeed Lloyd George’s Yellow Book – really authored by John Maynard Keynes – 85 years ago. Last week I wrote how times have changed since then.

Each author has a specific point of view but all were united in saying we can’t go on as we are, both as a country and as a party. As editors, we were clear that the LibDems are now a party of national government; we need a programme to put before the voters that’s frank about the challenges Britain faces: the first industrialised nation that has largely exhausted its natural resources and now has to compete for energy, food and raw materials with the burgeoning economies of India, Brazil and China.

Posted in Books, News and Party policy and internal matters | Also tagged and | 10 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 4th Jul - 7:55pm
    In what way do you see this as "extending state powers"?
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 4th Jul - 6:56pm
    Obama won against Clinton in 2008 because of Iraq and he was seen as being to the left of her, not because women are more...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 6:47pm
    @phyills. Somebody said something should be done about the entire poor working classes (me), but nobody said that it should solely be about poor working...
  • User AvatarStephen Donnelly 4th Jul - 6:43pm
    These two sentences from the Guardian convince me that this should be opposed. "If said named person has any concerns about a child's welfare, they...
  • User AvatarSimon McGrath 4th Jul - 6:08pm
    To characterise concern about the state appointing an official to have responsibility for every child, regardless of whether they need support, as only being opposed...
  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 5:57pm
    Phyllis - blimey what would we do without you? xx Stuart - exactly. David - I take your points but there is sexism in our...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015