Tag Archives: liverpool care pathway

Norman Lamb writes… A once-in-a-generation opportunity to fix our health and care system

In 1997 Tony Blair told the Labour Party conference “I don’t want brought up in a country where the only way pensioners can get long-term care is by selling their home.” And yet speaking to the Health Select Committee in 2010, in Labour’s final months in office, Andy Burnham said, “every member of the Cabinet believed social care to be an area that had not been properly reformed and was one of great unfairness”. In thirteen years of talk, and promises, Labour did nothing to fix our dysfunctional, and profoundly unfair, system of funding social care.

In …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 15 Comments

Norman Lamb writes: The Liverpool Care Pathway and end of life care

I imagine many people had not heard of the Liverpool Care Pathway before it hit the headlines a couple of weeks ago with allegations of patients denied drugs, liquid and sustenance and families experiencing real distress. Set up in the late 1990s, its intention was to help spread elements of the hospice model of care into other settings: hospitals, care homes and people’s own homes. We all want to know that our loved ones – no matter where they are – will receive dignified and appropriate care in the last hours and days of their life.

Used properly, the Pathway ensures that individuals receive whatever treatments are right for them in their final days. The Liverpool Care Pathway itself is very clear that patients should be involved in decisions about their care if possible, and that carers and families should always be included in the decision-making process.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSimon Hebditch 1st Jul - 4:06pm
    I was astonished to see Paddy Ashdown's call for a progressive alliance across Labour, Lib Dems and the Greens. What has he been doing for...
  • User AvatarJenny Barnes 1st Jul - 3:51pm
    There is no need for fracking in the UK to provide gas for baseload electricity. Humanity has already found more fossil fuel than can be...
  • User AvatarSimon Foster 1st Jul - 3:37pm
    Thanks for the link Matthew. Approved subjects is the language used throughout my college, but with the meaning of facilitating that you've described. Swings, roundabouts...
  • User AvatarJohn Stevens 1st Jul - 3:33pm
    I do not have a vote in this contest. However, for what it's worth, In so far as I can judge, on European commitment and...
  • User AvatarPeter 1st Jul - 3:33pm
    If Mr Farron bans fracking, how does he propose to run the grid without gas fired electricity if political events interfere with our gas imports?...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 1st Jul - 3:31pm
    @Andrew No Lib Dem seats were secured in the North West constituency in the last European Election. There was no win. Even if there had...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015