Tag Archives: lo-tax

Opinion: Lo-Tax for the Lib Dems

landRaising the tax-free personal allowance is the Lib Dems’ headline contribution to this Government – so popular that the Tories are trying to claim it as theirs! But when Danny Alexander said that our next manifesto should include a promise to raise and peg the personal allowance to the National Minimum Wage (almost £13,000) he was setting his tax policy working group a challenge: to find £12bn a year from elsewhere.

According to the Institute for Fiscal Studies this isn’t progressive. Highest earners and others benefit, while …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 38 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRoland 29th May - 7:05pm
    @Jenny - An interesting point! Firstly I think there will be some employers who will make it clear to people on zero hour contracts what...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 6:53pm
    Thanks T-J. I think Farron could be a good leader, but I like some interventions more than others. :p
  • User AvatarbrianD 29th May - 6:37pm
    I guess it depends on what you regard as evil and wicked. Reducing the maximum benefit income to our poorest families by £60 per week...
  • User AvatarMark Valladares 29th May - 6:27pm
    @ George, They did that here in Mid Suffolk too, in multi-member wards. Ironically, in one their declared second choice outpolled their declared first choice....
  • User AvatarMark Scott 29th May - 6:21pm
    I completely agree that we need to campaign on this. However I don't think Tom is right to suggest, as he did in an email...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 29th May - 6:17pm
    Never mind - just found them: Green Party Green Party Lead Candidate Green Party First Choice Candidate Green Party Second Choice Candidate Green Party Third...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015