Tag Archives: local councils

Opinion: Tough Choices – Yes, but local politicians must grasp opportunities as well as challenges

Sheffield Town HallI doubt that there are many councillors who are unaware of the scale of the country’s financial difficulties. Yet whatever your prescription for resuscitating the British economy, politicians of all parties agree that reducing the deficit is a crucial piece in the puzzle.

Regardless of your views on the Government’s strategy, it is clear that reductions in council budgets are a reality. The challenge for councillors is to best adjust to the new climate and mitigate the impact on the services that people care about most.

I do not believe that the way forward is to abandon all council services, leaving local government as a sole provider of social care. Rather, local government should be taking the lead in innovative ways of thinking – taking bold steps to cut waste, not just services.

Posted in Local government and Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 23rd May - 2:15pm
    TCO 23rd May '15 - 8:24am [[@Stephen Hesketh “You are personally from a socially privileged background”]] "With respect you know nothing about my background. As...
  • User AvatarbrianD 23rd May - 2:11pm
    No one could doubt the Norman Lamb described by Lynne. What's not to like? Unfortunately he voted for something he had signed a pledge not...
  • User AvatarTony Greaves 23rd May - 1:42pm
    Sorry, the most ludicrous thing about his article has just hit me. We now have just eight MPs. This means that the next Westminster election...
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 23rd May - 1:41pm
    TCO 23rd May '15 - 10:05am "@Stephen Hesketh Tim may be saying that but many of his supporters, at least the ones who post here,...
  • User AvatarTony Greaves 23rd May - 1:35pm
    This man Coetzee was in charge of the election strategy and had been for two or three years. Perhaps a little modesty might be in...
  • User AvatarHannah Bettsworth 23rd May - 1:33pm
    Sorry, I said "independentists" - it's a description that comes from the Spanish and is what they use to describe CiU. They mean that CiU...
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015