Tag Archives: london school of economics

LibLink: Julian Astle – The report every school reformer should read

Over on his blog at The Telegraph, former director of the Centre Forum think tank, Julian Astle, highlights a report by researchers at the London School of Economics looking into the effect of academies. The findings are good news for supporters of greater autonomy for schools, and one of the (perhaps surprising) conclusions of the analysis is that academies don’t just raise standards for the pupils that attend them, but also for surrounding schools, even as they lose pupils to the new academies.

Here’s what the report has to say on that last point, followed by a brief conclusion from Julian:

“In

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged and | 8 Comments

Voting experts unanimously reject first past the post

The London School of Economics reports:

22 voting theory specialists voted to select the “best voting procedure” to elect one out of three or more candidates.

Each voter chose from a list of 18 nominated voting procedures as many as she/he approved of. From a possible maximum of 22 votes, First Past The Post (FPTP)­ –­ also known as Plurality Voting – received no votes. Approval Voting won the contest with 15 votes. The Alternative Vote (AV) took second place with 10 votes.

Meanwhile the Yes To Fairer Votes campaign has released a new campaign video:

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 20 Comments

John Stuart Mill symposium – Saturday 14 November, LSE, London

One hundred and fifty years ago, in 1859, the great Liberal philosopher John Stuart Mill published his most important and enduring work, On Liberty. Used today as the symbol of office of the President of the Liberal Democrats, On Liberty emphatically vindicated individual moral autonomy and celebrated the importance of originality and dissent. It set out the principle, still acknowledged as universal and valid today, that only the threat of harm to others can justify interfering with an individual’s liberty of action.

Mill himself was not only a philosopher, but also an economist, journalist, political writer, social reformer, and, briefly, …

Posted in Events | Also tagged , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAndrew 25th May - 1:29am
    TCO Child centred learning came in in the 1960's in the wake of the Plowden report (which did many good things like nursery education as...
  • User AvatarAndrew 25th May - 1:04am
    I am afraid that the criticism of grammar schools on the basis of wealth and privileged applies in spades to comprehensive schools, and always has....
  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 25th May - 12:53am
    Gosh, Jennie, how glad I am that I'm not a Twit! Can't you de-tweet these nasty Nats? I agree with Willie Rennie.
  • User AvatarTonyJ 25th May - 12:48am
    Agreed. Apart from anything else, this is a public forum, so anyone can see what you say. Tough questions, challenging opinions, even harsh judgements -...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 25th May - 12:06am
    Hi Jennie. I suppose at first I didn't realise the liar tag was at stake again, but I still feel a general lack of consideration...
  • User AvatarTCO 24th May - 11:44pm
    @Andrew spooky ... I've just done a you gov where the first questions were those grammar school questions. I understand your point about successful schools...
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015