Tag Archives: lord president of the council

Clegg statement on Leveson: our proposals pose no danger to press freedom, but will give assurance to victims

clegg on levesonNick Clegg – who declared on Thursday his backing for a free and fair press – has now published a statement on how he’s approaching next week’s critical Commons vote on how the Leveson Report is taken forward:

Next week MPs will have the chance to deliver the robust, independent self-regulation for the press that Lord Justice Leveson recommended in his report.

It was hoped that talks between the party leaders would be able to agree how such a system would work, but the Prime Minister’s decision to end

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 6 Comments

Here’s a ******* awesome Liberal Voice we should hear more from

With apologies to those who’ve already seen this story — but it’s too good for us not also to copy and paste from the Telegraph report

With Nick Clegg about to miss ‘an unprecedented fourth meeting of the Privy Council’ in his role as Lord President of the Council, the Telegraph spotted a mischief-making opportunity and phoned one of the leader’s aides to get a quote. The reporter got more than he …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMichele 5th Jul - 10:07am
    Speaking as a woman from a disadvantaged background who works in a male dominated field I can't think of anything that I am opposed to...
  • User AvatarSimon Banks 5th Jul - 10:06am
    Some important stuff here and we may have to face up to the possibility that the reduction in the local effect, the incumbency boost and...
  • User Avatardavid walker 5th Jul - 9:57am
    Well said. We should be bold in being patriotic at all levels of the UK, be it nationally, internationally or indeed England, the regions and...
  • User AvatarPeter Davies 5th Jul - 9:47am
    There is a natural level of organisation which is the distance you can travel for an all-day meeting. Our regions generally fit that requirement and...
  • User AvatarDavid Warren 5th Jul - 9:29am
    This should be opposed. Firstly because it is state intrusion into the lives of children and their parents, totally illiberal. Secondly and worse still it...
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 5th Jul - 9:23am
    PR by STV should have been a LibDem 'red line' in 2010. Thanks to LibDem weak leadership, PR is off the table for another 50...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015