Tag Archives: lord president of the council

Clegg statement on Leveson: our proposals pose no danger to press freedom, but will give assurance to victims

clegg on levesonNick Clegg – who declared on Thursday his backing for a free and fair press – has now published a statement on how he’s approaching next week’s critical Commons vote on how the Leveson Report is taken forward:

Next week MPs will have the chance to deliver the robust, independent self-regulation for the press that Lord Justice Leveson recommended in his report.

It was hoped that talks between the party leaders would be able to agree how such a system would work, but the Prime Minister’s decision to end

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 6 Comments

Here’s a ******* awesome Liberal Voice we should hear more from

With apologies to those who’ve already seen this story — but it’s too good for us not also to copy and paste from the Telegraph report

With Nick Clegg about to miss ‘an unprecedented fourth meeting of the Privy Council’ in his role as Lord President of the Council, the Telegraph spotted a mischief-making opportunity and phoned one of the leader’s aides to get a quote. The reporter got more than he …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , and | 12 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 27th May - 1:48am
    Can't one just forgo the response altogether? The attention to it is likely to be only negative.
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 27th May - 1:18am
    I must agree with David-1: those with the most power have the most opportunity. I don't think it can be separated. However Richard S does...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 27th May - 1:06am
    I can't help but feel that Nick Clegg needs to take a bit of advice from John Major on this one and realise that "when...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 27th May - 12:58am
    @Tony To me the core electorate in a lot of our former urban seats were students and young professionals/aspiring professionals under 35 reinforced by a...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 27th May - 12:52am
    The idea that there is some sort of opposition between "equality of opportunity" and "equality of outcomes" is absurd. The only way that you can...
  • User AvatarPaul Pettinger 27th May - 12:41am
    You seek to speak on behalf of new members, but dismiss the message of 4.4 million former voters. I thought LDV required people to be...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015