Tag Archives: lunchtime debate

Lunchtime debate: Should we ban domestic violence offenders from drinking alcohol?

The Chief Constable of the new Scottish single police force has suggested that men who are convicted of domestic violence while drunk should be banned from drinking alcohol.

I wondered what Lib Dem Voice readers thought of this proposal. In England, Drinking Banning Orders have been around for 7 years but the guidance on their use suggests that they may not be appropriate if an individual is subject to domestic violence proceedings.

I’d be interested to see if anyone has any knowledge of how these orders work in practice, and whether they are effective in reducing offending. Are they too illiberal, …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn McHugo 26th Feb - 10:35pm
    Toby - I'm glad you agree that recognition is probably due now. You also say it should be "within the 1967 borders subject to agreed...
  • User AvatarJasper Gerard 26th Feb - 10:29pm
    Very sad news. Touching and charmingly written obit Ed. J
  • User AvatarATF 26th Feb - 10:21pm
    UKIP Kiddie We'll see who has more MPs after the election...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th Feb - 9:57pm
    As there happens to be a fairly direct link between a politician's pecuniary interests and the policies he or she can be expected to support,...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th Feb - 9:53pm
    Ideally these places wouldn't exist at all. But even if a full measure of liberty allows for the possibility that such places can exist, there's...
  • User AvatarPhilip Thomas 26th Feb - 9:46pm
    @malc- yes, the Tories and Lib Dems will team up with the DUP. Next!
Fri 27th Feb 2015
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015