Tag Archives: lunchtime debate

Lunchtime debate: Should we ban domestic violence offenders from drinking alcohol?

The Chief Constable of the new Scottish single police force has suggested that men who are convicted of domestic violence while drunk should be banned from drinking alcohol.

I wondered what Lib Dem Voice readers thought of this proposal. In England, Drinking Banning Orders have been around for 7 years but the guidance on their use suggests that they may not be appropriate if an individual is subject to domestic violence proceedings.

I’d be interested to see if anyone has any knowledge of how these orders work in practice, and whether they are effective in reducing offending. Are they too illiberal, …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarCharlie 30th May - 7:28pm
    JohnTilley 2012 http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/careers/graduate-salaries-and-the-professional-premium/graduate-starting-salary/ Top Ten dentistry, chemical engineering, medicine, general engineering, mechanical engineering, economics, vet/medicine, aeronautical engineering, materials technology, physics and astronomy, 2014 http://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/careers/what-do-graduates-do/what-do-graduates-earn/ The...
  • User Avatardavid 30th May - 7:14pm
    “Now, his message is one of division, ours is one of uniting people." Don't think the public would have a clue what that means -...
  • User AvatarMartin 30th May - 6:54pm
    Not Who I say I am: Don't you think that 'Newshound' is who they say they are? - Anyone from the LDV team who hounds...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 30th May - 6:25pm
    For going beyond tribal partisan politics, thought this might be an interesting read: “Moral theologians make a key distinction between ‘goodness’ (with its opposite, ‘badness’...
  • User AvatarTony Dawson 30th May - 6:22pm
    I am a strong supporter of Tim and I think Housing is very important for the future. Now a request: Can we have a little...
  • User AvatarDavid Cooper 30th May - 6:20pm
    @David Howarth "Are you suggesting that the UK should leave the UN and the WTO" Trade is necessarily governed by international law. Human rights is...
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015
Fri 26th Jun 2015
Sat 27th Jun 2015