Tag Archives: lunchtime debate

Lunchtime debate: Should we ban domestic violence offenders from drinking alcohol?

The Chief Constable of the new Scottish single police force has suggested that men who are convicted of domestic violence while drunk should be banned from drinking alcohol.

I wondered what Lib Dem Voice readers thought of this proposal. In England, Drinking Banning Orders have been around for 7 years but the guidance on their use suggests that they may not be appropriate if an individual is subject to domestic violence proceedings.

I’d be interested to see if anyone has any knowledge of how these orders work in practice, and whether they are effective in reducing offending. Are they too illiberal, …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 11:17pm
    Andrew - you are wise to say that parents must accept some effect on their careers. I breastfed for three years and was prepared to...
  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 4th Jul - 10:40pm
    It might well be the case now, and if it is then that means no deal as far as the Lib Dems are concerned. I...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 10:40pm
    @Phyllis: "David, they might not exist explicitly on this thread". They don't exist at all on this thread. @Phyllis: "men from a working class background...
  • User AvatarMrWallace 4th Jul - 9:24pm
    @andrew. "I am just astonished that two parents expect to have children with no effect on their careers at all". Me too, I think it's...
  • User AvatarMrWallace 4th Jul - 9:09pm
    PR as a red line no nonsense about a referendum? When I ask why this wasn't done in 2010 I'm told because it would be...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 8:55pm
    I should have said "look after their children for part of the time" of course! Unless your are aristocracy...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015