Tag Archives: maggie hughes

The Independent View: Seeking justice across borders

In October last year, Theresa May announced in the House of Commons the Conservatives’ intention to opt-out of 130 measures of EU criminal law cooperation.

We, at Justice Across Borders, are opposed to it – and many others are too – but the reality is, the way this issue has been presented by the Home Secretary, and has been debated so far, means nothing to the man in the street. That is why we have taken on the challenge to start a debate that can be joined by all.

Yesterday, we met the Deputy Prime Minister and leader of the Liberal …

Posted in The Independent View | Also tagged , , , , , , , and | 5 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarkevin 5th Jul - 4:36am
    Voting reform is not going to happen for a number of reasons. -Voters aren't interested and it never comes up as a voter concern in...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 5th Jul - 3:54am
    Thanks Sammy. I just think that if people are not pursuing justice because of the cost of it then we will have all kinds of...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 5th Jul - 2:43am
    @Eddie Yes the claimant pays the appropriate fee when they file the claim, except if they are eligible for fee remission on the grounds of...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 5th Jul - 1:34am
    I'm confused. Do people have to pay fees up front in order to use civil courts? The idea strikes me as hideously right wing, yet...
  • User AvatarConor McGovern 5th Jul - 1:12am
    Geoffrey Payne, judging by history it looks like it might take another 20 or 30 years until Labour back PR then! Later's better than never...
  • User AvatarAndrew 5th Jul - 12:58am
    Phyllis, Actually I thought that there was evidence that amongst the working class, women are increasingly becoming the breadwinners. Girls do better in school, get...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015