Tag Archives: manchester evening news

++ SHOCK! HORROR! LIB DEM MP CAUGHT UP IN NEW EXPENSES ROW!

I’m deeply grateful to the Manchester Evening News and its reporter Deborah Linton for exposing Manchester MP John Leech’s shameless attempts to exploit the taxpayer by…

(brace yourselves for the shock)…

… offering coffee to staff working at his constituency office and members of the public visiting him.

With unbelievable extravagance, Mr Leech has splashed out on two £34.99 coffee makers from Aldi for his Didsbury office. As if that weren’t shameless enough, he also bought coffee beans to actually put into the actual coffee makers!

Then to …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , and | 22 Comments

ID cards trial failure

Hot on the tails of the news that P&O refused to recognise an ID card as a European travel document comes this investigation from the Manchester Evening News:

THE national identity card scheme was in chaos last night as an M.E.N investigation revealed some of the country’s biggest travel companies are telling customers that they can not be used instead of passports.

Some 1,736 people in Greater Manchester have bought the £30 cards after the Home Office promised they could be used to travel in Europe.

But customer service staff at nine major travel companies – including British Airways, Eurostar and

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAlistair 26th May - 6:29am
    Eddie, what was wrong with Mers-el-Kébir in your opinion? It was clearly the right course of action at the time. The French Navy could have...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 5:02am
    @jbt: "But does anyone care? The only test here that matters is whether people recognise and value the relationship." If you seriously intend to pursue...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 26th May - 4:52am
    @jbt: "I have no problem with Irish voters. . . we recognise a kinship with them that we do not extend to others!" Have you...
  • User AvatarT-J 26th May - 1:57am
    I have very strong feelings about this. In my opinion, the Commonwealth is the most meaningless of international organisations - if it did not exist,...
  • User AvatarSammy O'Neill 26th May - 1:37am
    I sense, I feel without undue justification, that the Lib Dems risk being portrayed in this upcoming referendum campaign as focusing on the wrong things...
  • User AvatarAndy Hinton 26th May - 1:30am
    Caron: Thanks for responding to my comment, and I'm genuinely heartened to read what you say. It's not that I'm unable to understand the genuine...
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015