Tag Archives: margaret marshall

The other local elections: Lib Dems gain five and hold three

The Liberal Democrats have gained five council seats and retained all three of their previously-held seats in the raft of council by-elections they were contesting yesterday.

In Wallsend, North Tyneside, Michael Huscroft gained from Labour with 58.2%, or 1158 votes.

David Siddans won in Rossett, Harrogate Borough Council, with 48.9% of the vote (897), in a 25.6% swing from the Tories.

From the Harrogate Advertiser:

Councillor John Fox, Constituency Chairman, Harrogate and Knaresborough Liberal Democrats said: “This is the first Liberal Democrat gain from the Conservatives in the north of England this year. We are absolutely delighted to have overturned a

Posted in Council by-elections | Also tagged , , , , , , and | 29 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatartheakes 27th Jul - 4:12pm
    How can there be a snap election?. The Government would not call a Vote of No Confidence in itself, if it did and won there...
  • User AvatarAshley 27th Jul - 4:04pm
    Those were the days. I think Liz still has some liberal instincts. I'm hopeful.... And tbf you often get more liberal measures from tories than...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 27th Jul - 4:00pm
    I can't think of much else waste I mean, not could. Amend that if you can. :)
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 27th Jul - 3:58pm
    Not a member, but I'd like to any planned increases on higher rate tax payers scrapped (but not additional rate payers). I want the re-introduction...
  • User AvatarLiberal Neil 27th Jul - 3:54pm
    Happy days. Liz was very much the radical protestor in those days. We also did some direct action against the M11 extension around that time...
  • User AvatarDav 27th Jul - 3:41pm
    Biggest reason for voting for Hillary ? She’s not Trump, and that’s about it. Nearly 320,000,000 Americans, and they manage to find the two least...
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Wed 3rd Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Sat 13th Aug 2016
Tue 16th Aug 2016
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016