Tag Archives: margaret moran

Margaret Moran makes £177,000 profit on tax-payer funded house

MPs’ expenses – the scandal that just keeps on giving:

MPs’ expenses: Margaret Moran sells taxpayer-funded Luton home for £177,000 profit

The MP for Luton South, who was suspended from the Parliamentary Labour Party over the expenses and lobbying scandals, bought the semi-detached property for £72,995.

She “flipped” her second home designation to the house for just one year but in that time used £22,341 of public money on it, which included the installation of a new central heating system and bathroom, a complete overhaul of the garden and the redecoration of several rooms…

Her three-bedroom house is now being sold for £250,000, making

Posted in News | Also tagged , , and | Leave a comment

Viewing MPs’ travel expenses on a map

There’s a nifty little Google Map at http://ouseful.open.ac.uk/maps/mpTravelExpensesMap.html which is a great example of how you can use maps to make statistics clearer. In this case, the big issue is that MPs do have genuinely different legitimate travel needs depending on where they live. It’s only reasonable for an MP from Scotland to have much higher travel expenses than one who lives in London, for example.

Putting the sums on a map helps show the patterns which are reasonable. And it also highlights those which are a bit more surprising, such as the previously mentioned Margaret Moran, Labour MP …

Posted in Parliament | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment

Why does one Labour MP claim £80k more in expenses than another MP living on the same street?

The two Labour MPs for Luton, Kelvin Hopkins and Margaret Moran live on the same street in Luton. You could argue over whether or not they should be able to claim a second homes allowance. But what’s really rum is that whilst Kelvin Hopkins has claimed £8,894 from the second homes allowance in the last five years, which could be for reasonable occasional costs such as the odd night in a hotel after a very late night at work, his near-neighbour Margaret Moran has claimed nearly ten times as much: £87,206. Is that really right?

Hat tip – Duncan Borrowman.

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 9 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 3:07pm
    Paul Holmes, sorry you are right that this criticism can equally be applied to those who wished the party to become more aligned with the...
  • User AvatarPeter Sigrist 29th May - 2:50pm
    @John Tilley - I suspect you refer to the Sigrist whose name was on the flight controls of the Sopwith Camel. Unfortunately, I can claim...
  • User AvatarPaul Holmes 29th May - 2:47pm
    Eddie, when Norman says we 'should not be an adjunct to another Party' you say you see this as a 'polite critique of those who...
  • User AvatarPeter 29th May - 2:44pm
    I have frequently seen reference to the "evil, wicked Tories" on this site. It is not a good direction on a number of levels. I...
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 29th May - 2:37pm
    @Phyllis: I was taking the word *Know* literally to that of the personal level, as suggested by postings on here which some members inside the...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 29th May - 2:27pm
    A very good article. I feel fairly confident when I walk alone at night and I want more people to feel like this. There are...
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015