Tag Archives: marit paulsen

This week in Europe: 21-24 January… no to milk lakes, yes to skilled migrants and bees

Proposals for a revised Common Agricultural Policy met with mixed emotions

On Wednesday, the European Parliament’s Agricultural Committee (AGRI) voted on reform proposals to the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP). ALDE MEPs welcomed the votes in general as a major step towards a more sustainable European agricultural model. However, ALDE condemns the possible double payment for greening and agri-environmental measures and rejects a possible return to failed past policies of heavy market interventions.

Commenting after the votes, George Lyon MEP (UK, Liberal Democrat), ALDE team leader on the AGRI committee and shadow rapporteur on the direct payments report, said:

Today’s vote is a big

Posted in Europe / International and News | Also tagged , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPsi 7th Jul - 4:08pm
    expats “Council Housing is the only answer” I disagree, Housing Associations are an option and one I prefer HA to Councils as you have fewer...
  • User Avatarpaul barker 7th Jul - 4:05pm
    Welcome Peter, 5 good points & I would add a 6th _ lets not overestimate Labour. Older members will complain that I have been predicting...
  • User AvatarMark Smulian 7th Jul - 4:02pm
    Expats: "I do not accept there is a shortage of skilled labour; I advertised for a builder to put in an extra bathroom and had...
  • User AvatarPsi 7th Jul - 3:57pm
    As with other I am disturbed by the characterisation of Housing Associations as “public assets” they are not, they are private institutions (yes mutuals are...
  • User AvatarPeter Chivall 7th Jul - 3:55pm
    Ian Sanderson has the nub of it. A HoC elected by FPTP cannot be seen as competent to change its procedures to select out groups...
  • User AvatarJoe Otten 7th Jul - 3:27pm
    John, thanks for offering to answer my questions, but your comment seems to have got cut off during the ranty bit before you got to...
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015