Tag Archives: mark serwotka

Opinion: Trade unions, pensions and Labour

I have been following very closely the pensions dispute as it unfolds and one of my concerns is public sector workers could lose a lot of pay through strike action in what I am starting to believe is a political strike which they cannot possibly win.

I am also a little surprised at the way the government have handled things so far and, as a former national union representative, I have been amazed at times by their ineptitude.

Further confirmation I am afraid that the Tories and sadly many in our party don’t understand the real world of industrial relations.

So why do …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 56 Comments

Opinion: Cable’s GMB speech encapsulated coalition tensions

The Business Secretary Vince Cable’s speech to the GMB annual conference last Monday received significant attention. Some media coverage would have us believe that the senior Lib Dem had brazenly threatened trades unions with serious curbs on their strike powers. In fact, Cable had qualified his brief hint of this possibility with the admission that present circumstances merited no government action.

Within the context of unions’ criticism of government cuts to jobs and services, Cable’s introduction to the table of the possibility of changes to strike law may have been a strategic manoeuvre intended to dissuade industrial action planned

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 13 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarDavid-1 5th Jul - 1:40pm
    I agree with Mick Taylor that strong regional parties are desirable, but it seems to me that an essential precondition for that is the independent...
  • User AvatarSara Scarlett 5th Jul - 1:17pm
    "The big problem with a referendum is that people don’t vote on the question but on some hot political issue. The farcical referendum on AV...
  • User AvatarNotTellingYou 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    As if midwives, health visitors and teachers aren't busy enough? Speaking as a person who, as a child, had numerous social workers and was still...
  • User AvatarColin 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    Identity politics will be the death of this party. How can the Lib Dems have any kind of broad appeal when those who challenge demonstrably...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 1:11pm
    We have to deal with the world as it is rather than as we'd like it to be. I want regional devolution in England (though...
  • User AvatarChrisB 5th Jul - 12:43pm
    >"Tim Farron’s call for the UK to take 60,000 migrants" I was too busy thinking about my own backyard and missed this vote winning beauty....
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015