Tag Archives: marked registers

Glenrothes by-election marked register set to rise from the dead

A week today, starting at 10am on Monday 16th November, an act of political record keeping resurrection will commence as the lost marked register from the Glenrothes Westminster Parliamentary by-election is recreated.

The lost of the Glenrothes marked register caused more controversy than such loses usually do both because it happened at a Parliamentary by-election and because the result in that election was, to many people, a surprise.

The Goverment’s reaction to the loss of marked registers after the 2005 general election was underwhelming. As I described it in February:

In other words : ‘we don’t know on what dates records were

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged and | Leave a comment

Missing: one marked register

News via the Press Association:

The SNP demanded an inquiry after it emerged that a record of everyone who voted in last year’s Glenrothes by-election has gone missing.

The party had asked to see the marked registers from November’s crucial by-election – which resulted in a shock victory for Labour.

I’m not hugely surprised by this, as after the 2005 general election there were numerous complaints from people who tried to access the marked register for their constituency about the records being in a poor shape, delayed for long periods on in part missing. The rules then were that marked registers were …

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged , , and | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarShirley Campbell 24th May - 12:54am
    Wow, when did Liberalism abandon radicalism? Wow, when Liberals abandoned the Liberal Party and set up the Liberal Democratic Party. Please folk research Liberalism and...
  • User AvatarMartin 24th May - 12:10am
    Tony Greaves: Do you think that we would not have won a referendum on gay marriage? More seriously, as a Liberal do you not have...
  • User Avatartony123 24th May - 12:09am
    Look at how the Fianna Fail/ Green coalition worked out for the Greens. You'll struggle to find the Greens in Eire. As to Labour they...
  • User AvatarAndrew S Hatton 23rd May - 11:58pm
    All this LD hand wringing is about not retaining the power and influence that was accepted by the Parliamentary Party who agreed the deal in...
  • User AvatarTony Greaves 23rd May - 11:06pm
    Just won a referendum which we could not.
  • User AvatarMartin 23rd May - 11:06pm
    For those many graduates who do not get to earn high salaries, who in the end do not have to pay anything or not very...
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015