Tag Archives: marked registers

Glenrothes by-election marked register set to rise from the dead

A week today, starting at 10am on Monday 16th November, an act of political record keeping resurrection will commence as the lost marked register from the Glenrothes Westminster Parliamentary by-election is recreated.

The lost of the Glenrothes marked register caused more controversy than such loses usually do both because it happened at a Parliamentary by-election and because the result in that election was, to many people, a surprise.

The Goverment’s reaction to the loss of marked registers after the 2005 general election was underwhelming. As I described it in February:

In other words : ‘we don’t know on what dates records were

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged and | Leave a comment

Missing: one marked register

News via the Press Association:

The SNP demanded an inquiry after it emerged that a record of everyone who voted in last year’s Glenrothes by-election has gone missing.

The party had asked to see the marked registers from November’s crucial by-election – which resulted in a shock victory for Labour.

I’m not hugely surprised by this, as after the 2005 general election there were numerous complaints from people who tried to access the marked register for their constituency about the records being in a poor shape, delayed for long periods on in part missing. The rules then were that marked registers were …

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged , , and | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPeter Galton 1st Jul - 5:41pm
    Do not think that its going to be easy, we will come back but its going to take some time. Just get out there campaigning....
  • User AvatarPaul Walter 1st Jul - 5:38pm
    Phyllis By "historic error" I meant massive. Perhaps I should have written "monumental". I was seeking to say that I totally understand that it is...
  • User AvatarMartin 1st Jul - 5:38pm
    Kevin Manley: I agree; giving the leader a unilateral right to veto a policy is "a really bad idea". My point is that there needs...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 1st Jul - 5:29pm
    Thanks for this article Caron. Catherine Bearder MEP is doing superb work tackling the massive issue of wildlife crime and the real possibility in our...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 1st Jul - 5:19pm
    Norman Lamb (from his Huffington Post article) I want a public sector that is more self-confident and innovative, but ruthlessly focussed on delivering the big-ticket...
  • User AvatarPhyllis 1st Jul - 5:10pm
    "it’s about the culture of the party which I believe is no more sexist than wider society, but should be much less so if we...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015