Tag Archives: Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill 2012-13

Baroness Liz Barker writes… A big step for a fairer society

Today, the House of Lords should be voting ‘that this Bill do now pass’ to take the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill through one of its final steps to becoming law. Liberal Democrats can be very proud of the fact that it is only because of us that this is happening.

In the Lords, I have been proud to lead from the Lib Dem benches whilst Lib Dem Ministers, including Jim Wallace and Lindsay Northover, have been speaking from the Government frontbench. You can read and watch my opening contribution to the Second Reading

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment

Marriage for same sex couples, but not yet equal for all…

In 2013 we celebrate 15 years of having been ‘going out’ together.  That’s a long time to be ‘going out’ – even for the decidedly commitment-phobic.

Over the last fifteen years we have attended many weddings, christenings, funerals of friends and family that mark out the great stations of life.

Apart from the occasional birthday bash and Eurovision party- we haven’t provided a similar opportunity for our friends and family to celebrate our life together.

On Tuesday the House of Commons will have a free vote on the Marriage (same sex couples) Bill – it’s not a perfect bill and in committee and …

Posted in News | Also tagged | 86 Comments

Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill 2012-13 starts its parliamentary journey

Lynne Featherstone with Same Sex marriage bill - Some rights reserved by Mark PackLynne Featherstone (right) proudly brandishes a copy of the newly published Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill 2012-13.

There is a parliamentary webpage dedicated to the bill here, where you can read the document and track its progress through Parliament.

The Government’s Equalities Office has published a range of supplementary materials here, including a short guide to the bill, a Factsheet and a Mythbuster.

Posted in News | Also tagged | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJennie 28th May - 12:43am
    What Nick Barlow said. Also: regarding the app you refer to; if that's the conference app I won't have it on my phone. It won't...
  • User AvatarCharlie 27th May - 11:51pm
    If we look at the Renaissance, the rise of the Netherlands , the Industrial Revolution in the UK, the economic expansion in Germany 1850 to...
  • User AvatarLiberal Al 27th May - 11:41pm
    A women in a £1m hat, who lives on the public purse, talks of austerity. Yet, I am the extremist for being a republican (note...
  • User Avatargautam16 27th May - 11:32pm
    The main issue is that the benefits are very easily presented, but the costs are obscure and immeasurable. Eg1 over time, will society look down...
  • User Avatarsuzanne fletcher 27th May - 11:32pm
    I agree with John Grout about us playing our part in helping the migrant crisis.
  • User AvatarGlenn 27th May - 11:30pm
    I worked with a night shelter for a couple of weeks, mainly reorganising their filing system. A lot of people were referred by the police....
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015