Tag Archives: match fixing

This week in Europe: 4-7 February

MEPs vote against discards and for sustainable fisheries across Europe

On Wednesday, MEPs voted for an ambitious reform of the Common Fisheries Policy (CFP) by 502 to 137 votes.

Chris Davies, who founded the cross-party MEP campaign group Fish For the Future, commented after the historic vote:

Today’s overwhelming support for EU fisheries reform from MEPs across all parties and nationalities puts us in a very strong negotiation position with Member States in the Council of Ministers. The Irish Presidency has made clear it wants to complete the reform by June.

People across Europe have said that we must

Posted in Europe / International and News | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarKeith Redwood 27th May - 6:47pm
    Like Dav I was highly sceptical about 16 & 17 year olds voting in the Scottish Referendum last year. I was a teacher in a...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 27th May - 6:40pm
    I see no reason a newspaper could not be owned by its employees. But the question may be moot as there may not be any...
  • User AvatarAlfred Motspur 27th May - 6:38pm
    Whilst I understand your reasoning, Dav, and do understand that it's not having a National Insurance number, being able to live away from home or...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 27th May - 6:37pm
    I suggest voting be optional from 16 to 20, mandatory from 21 to 75, and optional again thereafter.
  • User AvatarRichard S 27th May - 6:28pm
    @David Evans - there is some truth in that, but as a problem its only tangentially related to income inequality - for example all the...
  • User AvatarDavid Evans 27th May - 6:23pm
    On the contrary, anyone who concentrates only on the poor, ignores the massive impact and undue influence that the mega rich have on our society...
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015