Tag Archives: Meral Hussein-Ece domestic violence

Hussein-Ece and Brinton on stalking, under-representation of women and gender-based violence

November 25th saw the UN’s International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women. This occasion was marked by a debate in the House of Lords last Thursday.

Just reading the Hansard account of the debate made me feel sick. There was a former surgeon describe the hours of surgery it took to reconstruct one woman’s face after a violent attack by her partner. There were descriptions of how girls as young as 12 were subjected to Female Genital Mutilation in this country despite laws against it. Where is the worst place in the world to be a woman? Reputedly …

Posted in News and Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 2 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRichard Underhill 3rd Jul - 7:01am
    Ed Miliband was also crucified by a hostile press and also benefited from the relative impartiality of TV and radio, Andrew's point about a "negative...
  • User AvatarBill le Breton 3rd Jul - 7:00am
    Good to hear Paddy in the Lord's yesterday speaking sense on military action in Syria . We cannot afford to be silent and leaderless on...
  • User AvatarPeter Bancroft 3rd Jul - 1:04am
    David, the two articles you posted suggest that every company pushing for the right to be involved in fracking in the UK has misunderstood the...
  • User AvatarAndrew 3rd Jul - 12:14am
    well, the reality is that our national vote did not increase at all in 2015 up to the general election day, so if Nick Clegg...
  • User AvatarAndrew 2nd Jul - 11:48pm
    @Tsar Nicholas I think it is possible that you are looking at the temperature record for the town of North Pole in Alaska, where the...
  • User AvatarGlenn 2nd Jul - 11:47pm
    Tony Which is more or less what I said in the first place If you read the line you quote in context of the one...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015