Tag Archives: Meral Hussein-Ece domestic violence

Hussein-Ece and Brinton on stalking, under-representation of women and gender-based violence

November 25th saw the UN’s International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women. This occasion was marked by a debate in the House of Lords last Thursday.

Just reading the Hansard account of the debate made me feel sick. There was a former surgeon describe the hours of surgery it took to reconstruct one woman’s face after a violent attack by her partner. There were descriptions of how girls as young as 12 were subjected to Female Genital Mutilation in this country despite laws against it. Where is the worst place in the world to be a woman? Reputedly …

Posted in News and Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 2 Comments

Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPaul King 13th Oct - 8:06am
    The government seems t have washed its hands of the Calais problem - focusing instead on refugees in Lebanon. But, as Tom has reported, this...
  • User AvatarEddie Sammon 13th Oct - 7:08am
    I stick my neck out by not using an anonymous name. I'm not against diplomacy, I'm just against the idea that diplomacy can solve everything....
  • User AvatarHelen Dudden 13th Oct - 6:55am
    On Daily Mail on line, two young adults had a very sad end. High on drugs, they crashed the vehicle they were in. In their...
  • User AvatarManfarang 13th Oct - 6:46am
    J C "Great to welcome Burmese MP Zayer Thaw to Holloway Neighbrhod Group and Islington Town Hall today. Released from prison 2011, elected 2012!"
  • User AvatarManfarang 13th Oct - 6:44am
    I said settlements with an S. In the end people sit round the table. Did you ever hear of the Good Friday Agreement? If you...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 13th Oct - 6:09am
    Peter Watson There was little or no indication that Nick Clegg and the Lib Dem MPs were fighting to restrain rabid right-wing Tories, and whatever...
Wed 14th Oct 2015
Thu 15th Oct 2015
Fri 16th Oct 2015
Sat 17th Oct 2015
Sun 18th Oct 2015
Tue 20th Oct 2015
Thu 22nd Oct 2015
Fri 23rd Oct 2015
Sat 24th Oct 2015
Sun 25th Oct 2015
Wed 28th Oct 2015
Thu 29th Oct 2015
Mon 2nd Nov 2015
Wed 4th Nov 2015
Thu 5th Nov 2015
Fri 6th Nov 2015
Sat 7th Nov 2015