Tag Archives: mid-staffs

Norman Lamb writes… How Liberal Democrats are promoting safety and openness in the NHS

nhs sign lrgAs a Liberal Democrat, my priority for the NHS is simple. I want patients to have the best possible care. When people are ill and vulnerable, they deserve safe and compassionate care provided by doctors and nurses with the best possible training and medical expertise. And people need to know that, when mistakes are made, doctors will be open with them – and that lessons will be learnt.

What happened at Mid Staffs Hospital was a shocking scandal. The stories of neglect sent shock waves across the country. This Government …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , , and | 4 Comments

Opinion: Our NHS – the good, the bad and the ugly

nhs sign lrgIt is a week since Robert Francis’s report on the Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust exposed massive failures in the NHS, from top to bottom.

The silence from the political left is deafening. Of course there has been the usual horror and condemnation, and calls for heads to roll. But this wasn’t just a case of lax professional standards, which can be sorted out with a bit of culture training, it was complete system failure from cleaner up to Prime Minister.

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged and | 23 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarwayne simmons 22nd May - 7:58pm
    Helen, thanks for that. I did notice something to that effect. Do you know what changed his thinking on the issue?
  • User AvatarMavarine Du-Marie 22nd May - 7:34pm
    What about a transitional leadership (academic paper: MAJ Earl Russell 08 September 2011) This new leadership theory embodies the thought that a leader can transition...
  • User AvatarJohn Minard 22nd May - 7:34pm
    At least we made the news today!!
  • User AvatarJohnTilley 22nd May - 7:21pm
    Caron Lindsay 22nd May '15 - 4:50pm ".... Here is what I wrote at the time about the memo: http://www.libdemvoice.org/nicola-sturgeon-faces-similar-press-trashing-to-clegg-in-2010-but-with-added-misogyny-45322.html ..." I have just read...
  • User AvatarMartin 22nd May - 7:18pm
    Psi: i> clearly a very stupid decision to take, I can’t imagine what he was thinking. It gives the strong impression that in Scotland, Lib...
  • User AvatarBill le Breton 22nd May - 6:57pm
    TCO - it does not surprise me that from your stand point Rawls is a socialist.
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015