Tag Archives: mid-term review

Nick Clegg’s Letter from the Leader: “It’s not perfect, but then no government is.”

It’s been a big week for Nick Clegg: the launch of the Government’s Mid-Term ‘Ronseal deal’ Review and his first ‘Call Clegg’ radio phone-in. His latest letter to supporters focuses on these two issues, but also makes a broader point: that coalition government is starting to become accepted, even by the media; that there’s a recognition two parties can disagree on some issues while pursuing a shared agenda on others.

This email would have been the ideal way to share more widely the party’s (excellent) booklet, ‘What have the Liberal Democrats ever done for you?’ — it’s not mentioned at all so here’s the link. For some reason I find baffling there appears still to be a deep-seated reluctance to align these emails with party campaigns or calls to action: the result is Nick on transmit mode, not receive. That’s a shame because the letters are an excellent initiative, and whether actually written by him or not, they read like Nick, are authentic.

libdem letter from nick clegg

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments

Reviewing the Mid-Term Review. It’s hit and miss. But the biggest miss are the wasted opportunities

coalition mid term review 2013I’ve had chance only to scan-read today’s Coalition Mid-Term Review (with its rather grudging, adjective-free title, Stuck Together in the national interest), but here are some initial impressions…

The economy takes centre-stage…

This may seem a statement of the obvious. And yet it’s worth comparing with the May 2010 document, Our programme for government (ahh, that Rose Garden-inspired ‘our’) in which subjects were sorted alphabetically so that you had to wait until chapter 9 to read about ‘deficit reduction’. Back in those days the …

Posted in News and Op-eds | Also tagged and | 34 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 27th May - 10:36am
    Caron Lindsay 27th May '15 - 8:11am "How can anyone possibly say with confidence that we would have retained 30-40 seats if Nick hadn’t been...
  • User AvatarSimon Hebditch 27th May - 10:12am
    Of course, there is a real problem with right/left definitions and relevance in the modern world. But the problem also exists in terms of defining...
  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 27th May - 10:10am
    Neale Upstone 27th May '15 - 9:40am "However, are you really suggesting we abandon the idea of meeting in person? That’s the last thing our...
  • User Avatarpeter tyzack 27th May - 10:09am
    The Preamble to our constitution defines who we are, and who should be members. Anyone who supports the preamble should be part of our movement,...
  • User AvatarJohn Roffey 27th May - 9:57am
    I don't know if all of your suggestions are possible [simple ignorance] - but there is no doubt in my mind that the Party needs...
  • User AvatarAdrian 27th May - 9:49am
    David-1 27th May ’15 – 12:52am "The idea that there is some sort of opposition between “equality of opportunity” and “equality of outcomes” is absurd....
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
19:00
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015