Tag Archives: mike russell

LibLink: Tavish Scott says college row marks a turning point for the SNP

Tavish Scott has written a column for the Scotsman criticising the SNP Government for abuse of power and neutering the Holyrood Parliament. His comments come in the wake of a row about the Education Secretary Mike Russell effectively engineered the resignation of the Chairman of Stow College in Glasgow. Kirk Ramsay had been a vociferous critic of Russell’s cuts in the sector.

The story so far:

Ramsay records Russell’s on-the-record remarks at a meeting with about 80 people present at which the Cabinet Secretary was discussing his plans for the Further Education sector. He did so because he suffers from Tinnitus and …

Posted in LibLink | Also tagged , , , , and | 7 Comments

Controversial Scottish blogger arrested

From the BBC:

The former aide to Education Secretary Mike Russell, who left his post after a row over an internet blog, has been charged with breach of the peace.

Mark MacLachlan, 47, quit his role after it emerged he had used the blog to smear political rivals…

It is understood police took the action in response to emails allegedly from the blogger to his former boss.

You can read the full story here.

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 7 Comments

Haggis, Neeps and Liberalism #12

Yesterday was St Andrew’s Day, a special day of celebration in Scotland. If Iain Smith, Liberal Democrat MSP for NE Fife which includes the town of St Andrews had his way, it would have been a full public holiday, not just the half day that civil servants can take if they want that the SNP have delivered in Government.

There’s a lot going on in Scottish politics at the moment. Here are just a few snippets:

Posted in Scotland | Also tagged , , , , , , , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarPsi 22nd May - 10:42pm
    JohnTilley "I guess you are not an MP?" No (or an ex either, as that is now the larger group) I do find it odd...
  • User Avatargayle smith 22nd May - 10:23pm
    It is with genuine sadness that I as an SNP member read this story. The only question I would ask and I do not judge...
  • User AvatarPaul Holmes 22nd May - 10:17pm
    Julian, you say 'don't assume votes under PR would have mirrored those under FPTP.' But that's the whole point. For three decades we have averaged...
  • User AvatarLinda Forbes 22nd May - 10:15pm
    Sad to say that neither of the candidates inspire me to vote for them. With only eight MPs to chose from our scope for identifying...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 22nd May - 10:10pm
    Can I suggest, with my tongue in my cheek, that instead of Ad Lib or a return to Lib Dem News we just encourage people...
  • User AvatarGeoffrey Payne 22nd May - 10:05pm
    I campaigned hard for Lynne at the last general election and I am very sorry she did not get in. However from this article, and...
Fri 22nd May 2015
Sat 23rd May 2015
Sun 24th May 2015
Mon 25th May 2015
12:05
Tue 26th May 2015
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015