Tag Archives: mike thonrton

Eastleigh by-election: your essential round-up of the week’s campaign news

Mike_ThorntonIt’s only just over a week since the Eastleigh by-election was called. But this first Lib Dem / Tory by-election battle of the parliament has attracted a lot of interest. One aspect that hasn’t been noted much in the media is the level of enthusiasm within the Lib Dems to fight this by-election, and fight it to win.

As the party’s weekly briefing itself noted, Mike Thornton’s campaign has broken the party’s by-election records, with “more volunteers, more money raised and more campaign literature delivered in the opening days of the Eastleigh by-election campaign than any other”.

Here a few of the stats:

  • Well over 1,000 Lib Dem volunteers have visited the by-election HQ since it was officially opened on Saturday morning.
  • On Thursday alone, 2,200 phone calls were made to prospective voters and activists knocked on 1,700 doors.
  • More than 650 individual donations have been received through the party’s website and through email appeals in the last six days.
  • 21 of the party’s 57 MPs have already visited: Nick Clegg, Danny Alexander, Ed Davey, Vince Cable, Sir Malcolm Bruce, Sir Nick Harvey, Tim Farron, Jo Swinson, David Laws, Duncan Hames, Andrew Stunell, Simon Wright, Sir Robert Smith, Stephen Gilbert, Tom Brake, Roger Williams, Don Foster, John Leech, Tessa Munt, Mark Williams, John Pugh and Adrian Sanders.

Posted in News and Parliamentary by-elections | Also tagged , , , , , , , and | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarRuth Bright 4th Jul - 4:07pm
    jedibeeftrix - most women have babies so how is it separate from gender?! David - the "obsession" with gender in this organisation in particular is...
  • User AvatarAndrew 4th Jul - 3:19pm
    Phyllis, No, if "Lib Dem = untrustworthy" we would have no councillors left. The focus of all the opprobrium was very much Nick Clegg (and...
  • User AvatarDavid 4th Jul - 2:21pm
    @ Caron. Yes a female from a working class background will have a harder time than a male from the same background, a disabled person...
  • User AvatarSue S 4th Jul - 2:13pm
    I know that two or three swallows don't make a summer but by golly don't they give you hope! Thank you thank you thank you....
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 1:51pm
    On the subject of sex discrimination: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2015/06/21/gender_pay_gap/
  • User Avatarjedibeeftrix 4th Jul - 1:41pm
    @ Ruth - "Until that woman has her second period of maternity leave and then her career tends towards toast!" That is a quite separate...
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015