Tag Archives: Mohammad Iqbal

Pendle investigates claims of postal vote fraud

News via the BBC:

The council’s chief executive Stephen Barnes had written a letter to the Electoral Commission last year, saying allegations and perceptions of malpractice around postal voting “are seriously undermining public confidence in the whole electoral process”.

In the letter, the council cited examples of probable malpractice and the difficulties in taking action…

The leader of the borough council’s Labour Group, Councillor Mohammad Iqbal, said his party had won seats from the Conservatives fairly, adding: “There isn’t a problem in Pendle”…

The panel, consisting of cross-party councillors and representatives, will gather evidence at five public hearings across the borough.

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged and | 3 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSir Norfolk Passmore 1st Jul - 1:38pm
    This seems to me to be another example of headline grabbing populism which doesn't survive scrutiny. Even with a big increase in renewables (which the...
  • User AvatarDavid-1 1st Jul - 1:21pm
    The euro works just fine — as a common French-German-Benelux currency.
  • User AvatarPhyllis 1st Jul - 1:19pm
    Paul Walter 1st Jul '15 - 12:32pm "Phyllis Of course I take the issue of trust seriously. I am just not sure how many times...
  • User AvatarBill le Breton 1st Jul - 1:14pm
    I'm confused. I don't mind uncomfortable policies. Change is always an uncomfortable process. But if Liberalism fits our age and most people already support liberal...
  • User AvatarAlex marsh 1st Jul - 1:13pm
    More negative campaigning from Lamb. In light of all these digs towards Farron I really do wonder how much Lamb actually knew about the push...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 1st Jul - 1:03pm
    Simon Foster I have secondary school colleagues who still don’t know what all of the Russell Group approved subjects are (Maths is one of them,...
Wed 1st Jul 2015
Thu 2nd Jul 2015
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015