Tag Archives: nancy astor

Your essential weekend reader — 12 must-read articles you may have missed

It’s Saturday evening, so here are twelve thought-provoking articles to stimulate your thinking juices culled from the 50+ I’ve linked to from my Delcicious account this last week…

Groundhog year – Peter Kellner examines the polls to find how 12 months’ political turmoil has shifted popular opinion. The answer — not at all: ‘public reaction this year to Britain’s continuing economic troubles has been remarkably static. 2012 has been groundhog year.’

What next? Osborne needs a change of direction – Adam Posen, a former …

Posted in News | Also tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , and | 10 Comments

Forgotten Liberal heroes: Margaret Wintringham

Listen to Liberal Democrats make speeches and there are frequent references to historical figures, but drawn from a small cast. Just the quartet of John Stuart Mill, William Gladstone, David Lloyd George, David Penhaligon corner almost all of the market, especially since Bob Maclennan stopped making speeches to party conference. Some of the forgotten figures deserve their obscurity but others do not. Charles James Fox’s defence of civil liberties against a dominating government during wartime or Earl Grey’s leading of the party back into power and major constitutional reform are good examples of mostly forgotten figures who could

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , and | 6 Comments

Daily View 2×2: 1 December 2009


Welcome to December (political pinch-punch and no returns?)

Today is World Aids Day and also 90 years since the first female MP, Nancy Astor, took her seat in the Commons.

2 Must-Read Blog Posts

What are other Liberal Democrat bloggers saying? Here are two posts that have caught the eye from the Liberal Democrat Blogs aggregator:

Posted in Daily View | Also tagged , , and | Leave a comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarSamuel Griffiths 28th May - 8:54pm
    I remember Elaine from Liberal Youth. She struck me as the sort of person who got stuff done. Best of luck to her.
  • User AvatarJohn Minard 28th May - 8:53pm
    the devil or the deep blue sea - which can we best influence?
  • User AvatarMalcolm Todd 28th May - 8:50pm
    Is it coincidence that arguments about future direction of the party which see us as competitors in an electoral market who should be governed by...
  • User AvatarHelen Tedcastle 28th May - 8:49pm
    Douglas McLellan ' You are wrong about the safeguards unless you have such a poor view of the humanity of Scottish/British people' Elder Abuse in...
  • User AvatarJonathan Calder 28th May - 8:47pm
    I thought David's tweet was funny.
  • User AvatarAlex Lewis 28th May - 8:40pm
    Helen Tadcastle, Whilst a right to die is not enshrined in the UN Declaration on Human Rights or in the EU Charter of Fundamental Human...
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015