Tag Archives: NGDP

Opinion: The case for NGDP targeting (1)

The Times is reporting that the Treasury is setting up an internal unit to look into the wisdom of revising the Bank of England’s ‘flexible’ 2% CPI inflation target. Mark Carney, the incoming Governor of the Bank who will replace Mervyn King in June, mentioned the merits of adopting NGDP (National Gross Domestic Product) level targeting in a speech last December, launching a frenzy of speculation.

Considering the enormous effect expectations of future monetary policy changes have had in places such as Japan, it may be that the talk of NGDP targeting is partly behind the …

Posted in Op-eds | 11 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarTony Greaves 24th Jul - 11:19pm
    This is silly midsummer froth, a top-down attempt to use social media by people who don't know how it really works, and (in practice if...
  • User AvatarAndrewMcC 24th Jul - 10:38pm
    Adrian Sanders, I agree with much of what you say, although I think Tim is correct to be offering a home to the many people...
  • User Avatarchris_sh 24th Jul - 10:36pm
    @John Hugo "Whether the EU has signed up to it is therefore irrelevant." I wouldn't think that this is correct, surely you can't be bound...
  • User AvatarAnna Pitcher 24th Jul - 10:09pm
    I apologise for taking so long to respond to these comments and although I'd love to reply to them all, apparently my post was too...
  • User AvatarJohn McHugo 24th Jul - 10:07pm
    Chris, Surely the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties is customary international law. It is also (if I remember right) meant to be largely...
  • User AvatarFloating Voter 24th Jul - 10:03pm
    She seems a decent candidate. Was she slected in a fair contest or by the immoral all women shortlist system?
Sun 24th Jul 2016
Tue 26th Jul 2016
Thu 28th Jul 2016
Sat 30th Jul 2016
Mon 1st Aug 2016
Sat 6th Aug 2016
Wed 10th Aug 2016
Fri 12th Aug 2016
19:00
Thu 18th Aug 2016
Sun 21st Aug 2016