Tag Archives: Norfolk County Council

Norfolk’s Green Group Leader defects… to the Tories

Courtesy of Andrew Sinclair, BBC East’s political correspondent

Philip Hardy, the Group Leader for the Greens on Norfolk County Council, and councillor for Thorpe Hamlet has defected to the Conservatives, the first Green councillor thought to have done so. Elected to the council in 2009, he gained the seat from the Liberal Democrats, before becoming Group Leader in July last year.

From the Eastern Daily Press;

Derrick Murphy, leader of Norfolk County Council hailed Mr Hardy’s move as a “major coup”. He said: “Philip is a fantastic councillor who has already managed to make Norfolk a better place through his work on

Posted in News | Also tagged | 13 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarJane Ann Liston 6th Jul - 1:04am
    The Scottish conference passed a motion a year or so back supporting an investigation into LVT as a replacement for Business Rates (as far as...
  • User AvatarT-J 6th Jul - 12:44am
    Any changes to the way the English party works must factor in ways to account for the regional diversity in England. Indeed, an additional English...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 6th Jul - 12:20am
    It was wishy washy in the sense that it had no sense of what powers would be involved, what model of accountability devolution would have...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:57pm
    Sorry if this is a dumb question. 'for England we have a wishy-washy “devolution on demand” policy, some regional parties with policies for their own...
  • User AvatarLittle Jackie Paper 5th Jul - 11:50pm
    'Importantly, we need to develop the best policy possible to help bring stability into the region as soon as we can.' Well...with respect (and I...
  • User AvatarGeorge Potter 5th Jul - 11:28pm
    On the funding issue, again I think that's something that would be resolved by reform of the English party. If the English party took on...
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015
Sat 1st Aug 2015