Tag Archives: Norman Smith

LDVideo: Paddy Ashdown gets BBC’s Norman Smith’s name wrong

On Tuesday, Paddy Ashdown was sent to do the rounds of the media outlets as a robust voice of reason. He was on a bit of a mission to tackle the idea that the Liberal Democrats were showing themselves up as not fit for government. Of course, those commentators in the media making that point didn’t balance it up with any credit for being 20% of the government but contributing so many decent policies. I mean, whatever you feel about the efficacy of raising the tax threshold as a means of tackling poverty, it’s a promise kept. As is the Pupil Premium, investing money to give disadvantaged kids the best chance in life. Then there’s the total sense on mental health. That’s an area that’s suffered from chronic underinvestment for a long time. Things won’t be sorted overnight, but it’s good to have a Deputy PM and a Health Minister who get it, who understand the effects of being dropped from all the support at the age of 18. When you live in a place like Scotland, where the Health Minister really doesn’t get it and vulnerable kids are having to wait a year to even see a psychiatrist, you really appreciate the changes happening south of the border.

Posted in News | Also tagged , and | 2 Comments

Maria Hutchings, Eastleigh Conservative candidate, plays hide and seek with the media

Norman LamontOne of my favourite moments from the 1997 general election campaign came when I was stood on a street corner in Harrogate, talking to a report about the challenge from Lib Dem candidate Phil Willis, who was trying to take the seat from the Conservatives. Suddenly, the journalist looked over my shoulder, muttered ‘excuse me’ and ran off down the street, partially dignified, chasing a van that had driven past behind me.

The reason? The van was that of the Conservative candidate, Norman Lamont, who had been spending the whole campaign trying to avoid talking to the press. The result? Much of the press coverage was dominated by stories of journalists trying to track him down around the constituency.

Posted in News and Parliamentary by-elections | Also tagged , and | 1 Comment
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarBill le Breton 3rd Jul - 8:48am
    This is wonderful news. Its implications need to be considered in conjunction with the light which Thevoz and Baston shed on the 2015 GE campaign...
  • User AvatarMBoy 3rd Jul - 8:33am
    Lib Dem fight-back!
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 3rd Jul - 8:20am
    Whatever the intentions of the author of the New Statesman article and those who briefed against her anonymously, Catherine Bearder comes out of this really...
  • User AvatarJohn Tilley 3rd Jul - 8:18am
    Tony Dawson 2nd Jul '15 - 8:46pm "...Not even in Hallam where the Lib Dems basically campaigned for “Clegg to stop Labour” thus losing virtually...
  • User Avatartheakes 3rd Jul - 8:17am
    What a result at Hampton Wick last night. Could this be in part to the Airport extension and the party's greenish stance?.
  • User Avatartheakes 3rd Jul - 8:15am
    Moving on as we have to, just coming round after seeing the victory at Hampton Wick last night. Congrats all round. Wonder if the Airport...
Fri 3rd Jul 2015
Sat 4th Jul 2015
10:00
10:00
Sun 5th Jul 2015
03:00
Mon 6th Jul 2015
Wed 8th Jul 2015
Thu 9th Jul 2015
Fri 10th Jul 2015
Sat 11th Jul 2015
Sun 12th Jul 2015
Thu 16th Jul 2015
Sat 18th Jul 2015
Sun 19th Jul 2015
Mon 20th Jul 2015
Thu 23rd Jul 2015
Sat 25th Jul 2015
Sun 26th Jul 2015
Mon 27th Jul 2015
Thu 30th Jul 2015