Tag Archives: online politics

Opinion: For the sake of democracy, we need to be civil online

Twitter logoSome of the world’s best-known politicians have messed up on Twitter.

…From the Labour whip who called the Tory opposition “pigs”, to the American Republican politician Jeff Frederick who prematurely tweeted about a Democrat defection, and the Hull councillor who called members of the electorate voting for the opposition ‘retards’.

Therefore, it was hardly surprising when Lib Dem favourite Sir Graham Watson made his first Twitter blunder, tweeting something potentially ill-judged on Wednesday night. A popular MEP winning 80% of first-preference votes in the last Euro selections, opponents jumped on the error, and …

Posted in News | Also tagged and | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User Avatarnvelope2003 27th Feb - 12:56pm
    Be careful what you wish for. In almost every case where a long established monarchy has been abolished it has been followed by about 30...
  • User AvatarATF 27th Feb - 12:52pm
    Ever so slightly sad it wasn't called Oor Danny But yes, agree with Bill - it is a good move. Adrian, will be sending some...
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 27th Feb - 12:50pm
    @ Anne, I agree.
  • User AvatarJayne Mansfield 27th Feb - 12:46pm
    @ Roland, I agree with you. This does seem to be a sort of brain-storming exercise where no idea is too 'bonkers' and throwing a...
  • User AvatarRoland 27th Feb - 12:26pm
    @Peter - My classic was a few years back when my children were toddlers. One summer weekend 'youths' had been partying in the kids play...
  • User Avataradrian sanders 27th Feb - 12:20pm
    Getting our message across is about to get more expensive - Stamps are going up in price on 30th March! Please buy books now and...
Fri 27th Feb 2015
Sat 28th Feb 2015
Sun 1st Mar 2015
Mon 2nd Mar 2015
18:30
Wed 4th Mar 2015
Sat 7th Mar 2015
Sun 8th Mar 2015
Wed 11th Mar 2015
Fri 13th Mar 2015
Sat 14th Mar 2015
Wed 18th Mar 2015