Tag Archives: party policy and internal matters

Inquiries into Rennard allegations must be as public as possible

The party’s investigations into allegations against its members are traditionally internal, confidential affairs. There are good reasons for this, particularly as confidentiality can be necessary for people to be willing to given evidence and as the simple existence of an allegation can kill someone’s political career, even if the allegations are subsequently found to be groundless.

They are often so confidential, in fact, that the last time I was asked to provide evidence for an inquiry, I did not know what the precise allegations were, who was investigating them, who the range of people being investigated were, whether or not the …

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 8 Comments

Opinion: The importance of party unity over the economy

There has been a rise in factionalism across the Liberal Democrats during their time in the Coalition Government – with the Liberal Left, Social Liberal Forum, Liberal Reform and other groups, all promoting their different perspectives. At Party Conference a left/right divide over economics and fiscal policy was very noticeable.

My thesis is that this divide is a serious one which is widening, not narrowing, and without measures to halt the fragmentation,

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged | 127 Comments

Opinion: Farewell to Lib Dem News

As a former Editor, I’m sad to see that Liberal Democrat News is now compiling its final issue.

The idea of a weekly newspaper began in 1947.There were numerous attempts to axe it. I fought off at least two, and it was only thanks to the likes of David Steel, John Pardoe, and the ALC, that the treasurer was persuaded otherwise in the 1970s. Then, the party was financially bust, despite Trevor Jones delivering a string of remarkable by-election successes that

Posted in Op-eds | Also tagged , , and | 6 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:43pm
    adrian sanders We once said to the other parties don’t pick up the phone unless you are prepared to concede on PR. Dropping this was...
  • User AvatarMichael Beckett 27th May - 2:38pm
    Rural and urban parity of funding bill. Various funding formulas have under costed the effects of rurality on service provision including the NHS. Corrections are...
  • User AvatarMatthew Huntbach 27th May - 2:28pm
    Psi I really hope that is a joke. This myth of the “left wing north & Scotland” and “right wing south” is ridiculous. There were...
  • User AvatarTrevor Stables 27th May - 2:23pm
    I forgot to say...This is not a Party Political Matter and must remain a matter of conscience.
  • User AvatarPsi 27th May - 2:22pm
    Matthew Huntbach “So you just assume they have put work in to get where they have. Are you quite sure that’s always the case for...
  • User AvatarJoshua Dixon 27th May - 2:22pm
    Not backing Norman but I agree with him on this.
Wed 27th May 2015
Thu 28th May 2015
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015