Tag Archives: pendle

Pendle investigates claims of postal vote fraud

News via the BBC:

The council’s chief executive Stephen Barnes had written a letter to the Electoral Commission last year, saying allegations and perceptions of malpractice around postal voting “are seriously undermining public confidence in the whole electoral process”.

In the letter, the council cited examples of probable malpractice and the difficulties in taking action…

The leader of the borough council’s Labour Group, Councillor Mohammad Iqbal, said his party had won seats from the Conservatives fairly, adding: “There isn’t a problem in Pendle”…

The panel, consisting of cross-party councillors and representatives, will gather evidence at five public hearings across the borough.

Posted in Election law and News | Also tagged and | 3 Comments

Tory councillor’s racist comments censured

Here’s what a Conservative borough councillor Smith Benson said at a public meeting in Colne, Pendle, last year:

The problem with Colne is that there are too many takeaways. And too many Pakis, that’s why people don’t come to Colne.”

His comment to the Colne town centre regeneration forum – and which he repeated in the meeting when asked to clarify his remarks – led Lib Dem councillor Tony Greaves to complain that Cllr Benson had breached the local authority’s code of conduct: this has been upheld, and the matter has now been referred to Pendle Council’s standards committee.

The BBC reports:

The

Posted in Local government | Also tagged , , and | 4 Comments
Advert



Recent Comments

  • User AvatarAshley 29th May - 8:58am
    Danny Finkelstein talks nonsense. We are part of one of the longest political traditions in British politics. Liberalism is not something you can just cast...
  • User AvatarPeter Sigrist 29th May - 8:48am
    @Matthew Huntbach I suspect we largely agree with one another (though you make it sound like we're diametrically opposed). I'll take your lucid argument and...
  • User AvatarAWills 29th May - 8:46am
    He comes across as a throughly decent person, and a safe choice.
  • User AvatarKeith Edkins 29th May - 8:24am
    Editorial sponsorship by an airport is a specialized meaning of the word "Independent" of which I was not previously aware
  • User AvatarStephen Hesketh 29th May - 8:05am
    As a Liberal I believe this is such a fundamental matter of individual conscience, self determination and individual human rights that we should permit and...
  • User Avatarwilliam jones 29th May - 8:03am
    The author who is a Liberal Democrat member in Barcelona is right people do join us for different reasons other than being elected.
Fri 29th May 2015
19:30
Sat 30th May 2015
Sun 31st May 2015
Mon 1st Jun 2015
Tue 2nd Jun 2015
Wed 3rd Jun 2015
Thu 4th Jun 2015
Fri 5th Jun 2015
Sat 6th Jun 2015
Mon 8th Jun 2015
19:30
Tue 9th Jun 2015
Wed 10th Jun 2015
Thu 11th Jun 2015
Fri 12th Jun 2015
Sat 13th Jun 2015
Wed 17th Jun 2015
Thu 18th Jun 2015
Sat 20th Jun 2015
Sun 21st Jun 2015
Thu 25th Jun 2015